Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA)


Published on : / Through Fabrice Fouda

A regional power, Zimbabwe is a country that has established itself in the world of African football. Without major success, the Zimbabwe Football Federation continues to infuse its football with its Fighting Spirit.

Zimbabwe Football Federation, creation and affiliation

Zimbabwe Football Association of its name (in English), the Zimbabwe Football Federation was born in 1979. It was built on the vestiges of its ancestors of Southern Rhodesia (1892) and Rhodesia (1964).

Based in Harare, ZIFA affiliated with FIFA in 1965, Zimbabwe still being called Rhodesia. She joined CAF 15 years later in 1980, the year of Zimbabwe’s independence, and COSAFA (Council of Southern Africa Football Associations) in 1997.

Zimbabwe Football Federation and its Presidents

The president of the Zimbabwe Football Federation is called Felton Kamambo. He took power in December 2018 after beating Phillip Chiyangwa.

Long before Felton Kamambo, ZIFA knew a president by the name of Cuthbert Dube. After 5 years in office, he will resign in October 2015 from a federation whose debt amounted to 6 million dollars. During this period, the Zimbabwean selections will go through serious difficulties, linked to a lack of financial means.

Zimbabwe Football Federation and its competitions

The competitions organized by the Zimbabwe Football Federation are the Championship, the National Cup, the League Cup, the Super Cup and the Zimbabwe Independence Trophy. 5 trophies that the dominant club of Zimbabwean football, Dynamos Football Club, has brilliantly inscribed on its record. Finalists of the Champions League in 1988, the Glamor Boys were 22 times champion, 10 times winner of the National Cup, 2 times of the League Cup, 4 times of the Supercup and 9 times of the Independence Trophy.

Zimbabwe Football Federation and CAN

Zimbabwe will participate in its fifth CAN in Cameroon. The first four were in 2004 in Tunisia, in 2006 in Egypt, in 2017 in Gabon and in 2019 in Egypt. A quadruple which will unfortunately never lead to a qualification in the second round.

The country of the legend of Liverpool, goalkeeper Bruce Grobbelaar, six-time champion of England and winner of the C1 in 1984, will be satisfied with 6 victories in the COSAFA Cup (2000, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2017 and 2018). Medals taken at the expense of South African, Zambian and Angolan leaders. Proof that the Zimbabwe Football Federation is doing what it takes locally to feed its soccer. The Warriors are sure to see better days in the future. The base is there …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *