First day of free practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in preparation for the famous Indy 500, the prestigious Indianapolis 500 Miles 2021 edition.

On the formidable Indiana Oval, this opening day was unfortunately disrupted by the rain, but the pilots nevertheless managed to complete a good number of laps but naturally in heavy traffic conditions, the pilots finding themselves suddenly all together…

The purpose of this inaugural session for everyone was primarily to first check the cars’ renewed aerodynamic setup, which aims to shift the load forward using down and reduce dependence on the front wing.

Because last year there was massive understeer, during the slipstream race. In this sense, many opinions have turned out to be extremely positive.

In addition to the new configuration of the slots on the bottom of the cars, now mandatory, this year the teams also have the possibility of installing “barges boards” or flow deviators in front. Early comments regarding stability seem to signal some improvement from 2020.

In the end, it is in the end one of the pilots of Team Penske, the Australian Will Power who at the end of this ‘1st stage’ was the fastest, benefiting from a good wake and a good suction, exceeding 226 mp / h on average

Will who explained:

Just a nice aspiration. It’s as simple as that. In traffic I felt pretty good. I felt comfortable with two or three cars in front.

Before indicating and specifying:

It’s promising. I think adding support is going to help us in the race and you’re going to have an old-fashioned race, with the top three just changing positions. I think it will be good

Behind him, the fastest on the track on the ring were the American Ryan Hunter-Reay, winner in 2014 and the Japanese Takuma Sato, still very comfortable on the oval because already winner of the Indy 500 at twice in 2017 and last year in August 2020 and the astonishing Sage Karam who rides for the modest Dreyer & Driscol team, excellent fourth.

Then, we point and in order, the American Conor Daly with one of the Dallara-Chevy of Ed Carpenter and the former winner of the 2019 edition, the French of Roger Penske’s Team, Simon Pagenaud

Simon PAGENAUD Ranks six in the 1st session

Next in the Top 10, the Mexican Pato O’Ward of the team Arrow McLaren Schmidt Peterson, the New Zealander of Chip Ganassi, Scott Dixon the winner in 2008, the Emirati Ed Jones of Dale Coyne and the Swede Marcus Ericsson, another pilot of Chip Ganassi

Thirty-four cars took to the track. RC Enerson, who had not taken part in the start of the season tests here, was unable to complete his ‘rookie’ test due to a mechanical problem!




1 – Will Power (Dallara-Chevy) Penske – 226.470 mp / h (364.468 km / h)

2 – Ryan Hunter-Reay (Dallara-Honda) Andretti – 226.371

3 – Takuma Sato (Dallara-Honda) RLL – 226.132

4 – Sage Karam (Dallara-Chevy) DR&R – 225.942

5 – Conor Daly (Dallara-Chevy) Ed Carpenter- 225.640

6 – Simon Pagenaud (Dallara-Chevy) Penske – 225.230

7 – Pato O’Ward (Dallara-Chevy) – AMSP – 225.146

8 – Scott Dixon (Dallara-Honda) Chip Ganassi – 224.988

9 – Ed Jones (Dallara-Honda) Dale Coyne – 224.651

10 – Marcus Ericsson (Dallara-Honda) Chip Ganassi – 224.615

11 – Tony Kanaan (Dallara-Honda) Chip Ganassi – 224.593

12 – Juan Pablo Montoya (Dallara-Chevy) Arrow McLaren Schmidt Peterson- 224.384

13 – Simona De Silvestro (Dallara-Chevy) Penske – 224.230

14 – Josef Newgarden (Dallara-Chevy) Penske – 224.040

15 – Rinus VeeKay (Dallara-Chevy) Ed Carpenter – 223.793

16 – James Hinchcliffe (Dallara-Honda) Andretti – 223.780

17 – Felix Rosenqvist (Dallara-Chevy) Arrow McLaren Schmidt Peterson – 223.744

18 – Ed Carpenter (Dallara-Chevy) Arrow McLaren Schmidt Peterson – 223.671

19 – Marco Andretti (Dallara-Honda) Andretti – 223.336

20 – Colton Herta (Dallara-Honda) Andretti – 223.329

21 – Helio Castroneves (Dallara-Honda) Michael Shank – 223.059

22 – Alexander Rossi (Dallara-Honda) Andretti – 223.004

23 – Alex Palou (Dallara-Honda) Chip Ganassi – 222.887

24 – Charlie Kimball (Dallara-Chevy) AJ Foyt – 222.806

25 – Scott McLaughlin (Dallara-Chevy) Penske – 222.699

26 – Graham Rahal (Dallara-Honda) RLL – 222.583

27 – Dalton Kellett (Dallara-Chevy) AJ Foyt – 222.371

28 – JR Hildebrand (Dallara-Chevy) AJ Foyt – 222.262

29 – Jack Harvey (Dallara-Honda) Michael Shank – 222.113

30 – Max Chilton (Dallara-Chevy) Carlin – 221.890

31 – Pietro Fittipaldi (Dallara-Honda) Dale Coyne – 220.774

32 – Santino Ferrucci (Dallara-Honda) Rahal – 220.718

33 – Sebastien Bourdais (Dallara-Chevy) AJ Foyt – 220.137

34 – Stefan Wilson (Dallara-Honda) Andretti – 218.573

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *