What are the 6 most successful manufacturers in motorsport?


Classifying brands in terms of sports records quickly becomes complicated given the number of existing competitions. For example, there are the different categories to take into account, and the popularity of the championships. In this ranking, we will talk about the brands that have made an impression in the most popular motorsport competitions, such as Formula 1, the 24 Hours of Le Mans, or the WRC.

6. Bentley

The presence of Bentley in our ranking may come as a surprise, but the British brand has marked the history of motorsport. The constructor was one of the first to take part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans at the start of this competition. In 1923, only one Bentley participated alongside 33 other competitors. It was also the only British brand on the track. Walter Owen Bentley was skeptical of the challenge, even saying that « No one will finish. Cars are not designed to withstand this kind of stress for twenty-four hours« .

Between 1924 and 1930, the brand will obtain 5 victories in the most difficult and trying race. The most significant remains that of 1927, when the team was able to restore the Bentley 3 Liters to win the race. Bentley will record 6 victories in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The manufacturer is celebrating the centenaries of the famous competition and of its first participation in this legendary race.

Bentley engines and improved pit procedures marked the first decade of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.


The McLaren team is one of the figureheads of Formula 1. Founded in 1963 by New Zealander Bruce McLaren, the brand won the manufacturer’s title 8 times, and the driver’s title 12 times. McLaren F1 will have counted among its ranks great drivers such as Ayrton Senna, Alain Prost, or the seven-time champion Sir Lewis Hamilton. This is also the last won for the team in 2008.

In addition to success in F1, it is also the only brand with Mercedes-Benz to have won the triple crown (500 miles of Indianapolis, GP of Monaco, and the 24 hours of Le Mans). Victory on the Sarthe circuit dates back to 1995 with the McLaren F1 GTR.

4.Audi Sports

Audi Sport is probably the German manufacturer that has marked the history of motorsport the most. In addition to its sporting record, the brand will innovate the competition itself with its technologies.

In the 1980s, the brand joined Group B with the Audi Quattro and its all-wheel drive. This opens a new era, and probably the golden age, for the World Rally Championship. 23 victories in rallies, including 2 drivers’ titles and 2 constructors’ titles. There is also the success of Michèle Mouton, the French pilot, in 1985 on the Pikes Peak aboard the famous Audi Quattro S1. Between 1999 and 2016, the brand obtained 13 victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

In addition to these successes, Audi won 1 individual title and 1 constructor in Formula E. In GT, the brand won 4 times at the 24 Hours of Spa and 6 times at the 24 Hours of Nürburgring. There are also the 8 constructor titles in the DTM. We also see him participate in the Dakar and Rallycross.

The only major trophy missing from the sports division of the brand with the rings is probably Formula 1. The manufacturer will participate in the premier competition in 2026. This may be the opportunity to complete the picture.


Porsche is the symbol of domination at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. It started in 1970 and 1971 with the Porsche 917. This model would also win the World Sportscar Championship in those same years, winning 7 races each time (7 out of 10 in 1970 and 7 out of 11 in 1971). After a rule change, the 917 turned to the United States and won the CanAm in 1972 and 1973. To stay in major competitions, Porsche would win 19 victories at Le Mans, an absolute record.

In rallying, the German brand proved its worth with the 911 towards the end of the 1960s. This model won the Monte-Carlo rally 3 years in a row between 1968 and 1970. A Porsche 959, which Porsche will celebrate in 2023 with a 911 Dakar, will win the Paris-Dakar race in 1986.

In Formula 1, Porsche will succeed as the engine supplier of the McLaren team. The V6 Porsche Turbo engine will equip the team’s single-seaters towards the end of the 1983 season. Race results: 3 drivers’ titles for the World Championship between 1984 and 1986 (Niki Lauda in 1984, and Alain Prost in 1985/86) .

2. Mercedes-Benz

Mercedes is known as the Silver Arrows in motor racing. This story goes back to the Mercedes W25 in 1934 during the Eifelrennen, at the Nürburgring. The white paint of the car caused an overweight of 1 kg. So the team decided to sand it down and remove it to leave a bare body and its silver-aluminum complexion. The car won the event, but also 3 other World Championship races that same year.

There will also be the World War, and the brand returns to competition in the 1950s. Between 1954 and 1955, Mercedes dominated Formula 1 with Juan Manuel Fangio and Sir Stirling Moss. The major accident at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1955, however, caused the manufacturer to withdraw from all competitions. Pierre Levegh died that day in a Mercedes 300 SLR with 83 other people. That same year, Fangio would win his third world title on the 300 SLR.

There will be a few small moments when we will see a Mercedes trying to return to competition. The most memorable remains the victory at the Dakar in 1983 with a Mercedes-Benz 280 GE. There is also the partnership with Sauber in the WSC in endurance from 1984. The constructor will return to endurance in 1989 with a victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the constructors’ titles in 1989 and 1990.

The brand will also make its return to Formula 1 with a timid debut between 2010 and 2012. The team then welcomes Sir Lewis Hamilton in 2013 and this marks the rise in power. From 2014 to 2021, the Mercedes-AMG F1 team will successively win the manufacturer title in addition to the driver titles of Lewis Hamilton (6) and Nico Rosberg (1). The double record (5 times) in this discipline will fall during the 2019 season.

1. Scuderia Ferrari

We often confuse Ferrari and Scuderia Ferrari. The latter is the sports division that made the brand famous. This is the department that Enzo Ferrari, founder, wanted to keep control at all costs. The team is best known for its 16 Formula 1 victories, but it also dominated the endurance championship in the 1950s and 1960s. The manufacturer won the World Sportscar Championship 12 times between 1953 and 1973.

Scuderia Ferrari is the only manufacturer to have participated in all seasons of Formula 1 since 1953. During these 70 years, the prancing horse brand will win the constructor’s championship 16 times and the drivers’ world championship 15 times. The most famous victories obviously date from the Michael Schumacher/Jean Todt era.

We can obviously mention other brands like Peugeot with its titles in the world rally championship (5 constructors’ titles and 4 drivers’ titles), its 7 victories in the Dakar, and 3 victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Citroën Racing, the Williams team, Lancia, or even Alfa Romeo and Toyota also had their heyday in motor racing.

Article published on 06/25/2023 at 12:30 p.m.


Laisser un commentaire