Towards a 3rd consecutive first winner?

The 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season has started in a historic way. It is simply the 3rd time in the history of the series that the first two races have been won by first career winners.

This fact had been realized in 1949 during the inaugural season of the championship and in 1950. This weekend the season 202 & has the opportunity to equal the year 1949, the only season in history with three first career winners in of the first three races.

The odds, however, do not work in this favor. Indeed no driver has ever won his first NASCAR Cup Series victory at the Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Unsurprisingly, NASCAR’s inaugural season holds the record for first consecutive career winner with five.

The first career winners of the 1949 season.

SeriesDatedCircuitWinnersSeasonRace No.
CupJune 19, 1949Charlotte (Old)Jim roper19491
CupJuly 10, 1949Daytona B&RRed Byron19492
CupAugust 7, 1949OcconeecheeBob flock19493
CupSeptember 11, 1949LanghorneCurtis Turner19494
CupSeptember 18, 1949HamburgJack White19495

Three or more first consecutive successes have been achieved only three times in the history of the NASCAR Cup Series. The 1949 season, and twice in 1950.

The first career winners of the 1950 season.

SeriesDatedCircuitWinnersSeasonRace No.
CupMay 30CanfieldBill Rexford19505
CupJune 18VernonBill Blair19506
CupJune 25DaytonJimmy florian19507
CupSeptember 4DarlingtonJohnny mantz195013
CupSeptember 17LanghorneFonty Flock195014
CupSeptember 24North WilkesboroLeon Sales195015

This season, Front Row Motorsport driver Michael McDowell notched his first career victory at Daytona International Speedway in the Daytona 500. He is the 8th driver in history to win his first race in the Daytona 500. McDowell a achieved this performance on his 358th start. This is the second highest number of starts before a first Cup victory. The record holder remains Michael Waltrip with 463.

The following week on the road circuit, Christopher Bell led just five laps before winning for the first time in his career.

This weekend in Miami, 16 of the 38 drivers on the starting grid are still looking for their first career victory. Six former Homestead-Miami Speedway winners will also be in attendance with Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Joey Logano, Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick and Martin Truex Jr.

Laisser un commentaire