The victory and the title for Zane Smith!

Vice-champion in 2020 and 2021, Zane Smith got his revenge with the victory synonymous with the title in the final contested at Phoenix Raceway.

Frustrated for the past two seasons by finishing vice-champion each time, Zane Smith can finally exult in this year 2022. first career title.

During the’Overtime, Zane Smith got the better of his rivals and held off Ben Rhodes and Chandler Smith at the checkered flag for a title win. On the final raise, Zane Smith went inside, behind one of his rivals, Ben Rhodes, rather than the front line on the outside. A strategic choice that allowed the Front Row Motorsports driver to cut the dogleg and thus take the lead.

There was no other option. Either I ended up in the wall, or I left with the champion trophy. There was no other alternative. When I saw No. 18 (Chandler Smith – editor’s note) do me inside, I was afraid to let go of another trophy. Fortunately, he stayed away from me. I have enormous respect for the other three contenders for the title.

Zane Smith

On lap 134, Hailie Deegan hit the wall violently in turn 3. A neutralization follows which sends all the drivers into the pit lane. Ben Rhodes and his team have chosen to take only two new tyres, on the outside, while the other title contenders are on four new tyres.

Ben Rhodes restarts in third position, behind Stewart Friesen on lap 141 and manages to take the best on lap 144. A last accident, by Ty Majeski, who was struggling with Zane Smith forced the officials to pull out the yellow flag for the seventh and last time of the evening at Phoenix Raceway.

This new recovery allows Zane Smith to take advantage of his four new rubbers compared to Ben Rhodes. The Front Row Motorsports driver thus won his fourth race of the season and the championship title. He will challenge his title in 2023, while participating in a few races in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the DAYTONA 500, next February.

The Lucas Oil 150 in brief

Laisser un commentaire