the road to the final at Wembley will clear up for the Blues

England, at home, and the other favorites of the Women’s Euro 2022 (July 6 to 31) will know their roadmap this Thursday

Head to Wembley! With a year of waiting, this competition having been postponed due to the Covid-2019 pandemic – initially scheduled for 2021, it was rescheduled after the one-year postponement of the Men’s Euro, so that the two competitions were not ‘not take place the same year – the legendary London stadium dreams of seeing its “Lionesses” lift their first big trophy, after stalling in the semi-finals of the last two World Cups and Euro 2017.

The English of Fran Kirby (Chelsea) share the role of favorites with the other three seeds, the Netherlands, reigning European champions, Germany, crowned eight times in ten participations at the Euro, and a rejuvenated French team, still in search of a first major international title.

Attendance records expected

But there is no shortage of contenders among the 12 other nations. The Swedes, world No. 2, Olympic finalists this summer in Tokyo and placed in the second hat, are thrilling the leaders of the Old Continent.

As for Spain, Norway and Italy, all three members of the world top 15 in the Fifa ranking, they would offer serious opposition to the favorites, just like Denmark, finalist of the last edition, placed on its side in the third hat.

England hope to smash attendance records for women’s matches by hosting the opening match at Old (74,000 seats), Manchester United, and the final at Wembley (89,000 seats).

The English also count on the advantage of the public, like the boys, unhappy finalists against Italy (1-1, 3 tab to 2) of Euro 2020, also postponed by a year to 2021.


16 qualified teams
Besides England, host country, and the Netherlands, title holders, are qualified: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, Iceland, l Northern Ireland, Italy, Norway, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland.
Prize draw and tournament format
The 16 teams were divided into four hats. The first hat brings together the top seeds: England, the Netherlands (title holders), Germany and France. The draw will determine 4 groups of 4 teams. England, as hosts, have been placed directly in position 1 in group A. The top two teams in each group will advance to the quarter-finals.
Opening match: July 6 (Manchester) Group stage: July 6-15 Quarter-finals: July 20 (Brighton and Hove), July 21 (Brentford), July 22 (Wigan and Leigh), July 23 (Rotherham) Semi-finals: July 26 (Sheffield), July 27 (Milton Keynes) Final: July 31 (London)
Ticket sales begin October 28. Prices range from 10 to 20 pounds sterling (12 to 25 euros) depending on the category chosen.

Laisser un commentaire