the Golden State Warriors NBA champions worn by their golden generation

  • 2014-2015, the first of Steve Kerr at work

Golden State has a strong backbone around star Stephen Curry and his « Splash Brother », Klay Thompson. All you have to do is find the alchemist. It will be Steve Kerr.

The success is immediate. In the wake of Curry, named best player of the season (« MVP »), the Warriors unfold an irresistible « run & gun » (a strategy that consists of playing fast and shooting often) and fly over the play-offs. In the final, they easily dismiss the Cleveland Cavaliers of LeBron James (4-2).

Andre Iguodala, for his defense on « LBJ », is named best player of the final. Steve Kerr becomes the ninth champion coach in his rookie (“new recruit”) year.

Golden State Warriors coach Steve Kerr yells during the second quarter of Game 6 of the NBA Finals against the Boston Celtics on Thursday, June 16, 2022.
  • 2015-2016, frustrated with LeBron James

Golden State is in a state of grace. Records abound, including that of the best record in the regular season (73 wins for 9 losses), better than the Chicago Bulls of 1996. Stephen Curry is once again elected MVP by unanimous vote, a first.

Things get tough in the play-offs. In the conference final, the Warriors are back to the wall against the Oklahoma Thunder (3-1). In game five, they survive Kevin Durant’s 40 points. At the next, KlayThompson saves them by planting 41 points, including 11 award-winning baskets. He inherits the nickname « Game 6 Klay ».

In the final, Golden State finds Cleveland and sees the double (3-1). But « King James » does not see it that way. He and Kyrie Irving have 41 points apiece in Game 5.

In the 7th, the Warriors crack at home: two minutes from the end, when the score is 89-89, « LBJ » succeeds « The Block », an incredible counter on Iguodala. Irving then plants an assassin award-winning shot and the Cavs pull off the biggest comeback in history.

  • 2016-2017, Untouchables with Kevin Durant

Kevin Durant frustrated, Golden State frustrated, might as well team up. Possessing the last three MVPs (Kevin Durant was in 2014), the « Dubs » can only take back their due. In the play-offs, they sweep the Portland Blazers, the Utah Jazz and the San Antonio Spurs. They roll out twelve wins in a row, a record.

They also take revenge against Cleveland in the final. The Warriors lead 3-0, taking their unbeaten run to 15 wins. Cavs save honor at 4th game, but give in to the next, powerless against Durant, relentless best player (35.2 points, 8.4 rebounds and 5.4 assists on average).

  • 2017-2018, a success built crescendo

Second in the regular season behind Houston, the Warriors find James Harden’s Houston Rockets in the conference final. Led 3-2, they erase 17 points from a deficit during the 6th encounter, before inflicting a 64–25 in the second half. Chris Paul injured, the Dubs snatch game number 7.

Except for the first duel won after overtime, the fourth consecutive game against Cleveland is a formality (4-0). Author of 51 points, LeBron James hits a whiteboard in anger and harvests a bone bruise on the hand, kept secret until the end. Kevin Durant is still named MVP (28.8 points, 10.8 rebounds, 7.5 assists average).

  • 2018-2019, serial injuries

Finalists for the fifth year in a row, an unprecedented performance since the Boston Celtics of Bill Russell, the Dubs face the Toronto Raptors.

The series, hotly contested, rocks first with the rupture of the right Achilles tendon of Kevin Durant in game 5. Then with that of the anterior cruciate ligament of the left knee of Klay Thompson in the next. The Raptors win their first title (4-2).

  • 2019-2020, the nightmare year

Durant and Iguodala gone, Thompson convalescing… a page is turned. Especially since the Warriors are leaving the Oracle Arena in Oakland for San Francisco and the brand new Chase Center ($1.4 billion).

Stephen Curry fractures his left hand, Draymond Green wanders like a soul in pain and Steve Kerr arms himself with patience to rebuild with young people such as Andrew Wiggins and Jordan Poole. Golden State ends the season with the league’s worst record (15 wins-50 losses).

  • 2020-2021, Stephen Curry too alone

While preparing for his comeback, Klay Thompson ruptured his right Achilles tendon. Stephen Curry carries the team on his shoulders and has an XXL season.

He scored 62 points against Portland, becoming the club’s most prolific scorer ahead of Wilt Chamberlain. At 33, he finished top scorer of the season (32 points on average), becoming the second oldest player to do so behind Michael Jordan. But he can not avoid elimination against Memphis, in the play-offs.

  • 2021-2022, the resurrection

With a found Draymond Green, Wiggins and Poole performing, Golden State shines again. Stephen Curry becomes, ahead of Ray Allen, the best three-point scorer in history. And, 941 days later, Thompson is finally playing again.

Warriors winger Andrew Wiggins (right) faces Marcus Smart during the first quarter of Game 6 of the NBA Finals, Thursday, June 16, 2022.

The Warriors find their DNA of champions in the play-offs. They dismiss Nikola Jokic’s Denver, Ja Morant’s Memphis and Luka Doncic’s Dallas. In the final, they subdue the Boston Celtics (4-2) led by a Stephen Curry finally MVP of a final, seven years to the day after the first coronation of this golden generation.

Laisser un commentaire