The Best FIFA Football Awards: Kevin De Bruyne the only Belgian competing for the 2021 FIFA best player award


The ten other players are the Polish Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), winner in 2020, the Norwegian Erling Haaland (Dortmund), the French Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappé (PSG) and N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea), l ‘Italian Jorginho (Chelsea), Egyptian Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Brazilian Neymar (PSG) and the indestructible Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona and PSG) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Manchester United). The Argentinian was elected in 2019 while the Portuguese was the first winner of this award in 2016. He was again acclaimed in 2017, each time ahead of Messi. Ronaldo, who has always been in the trifecta, was then beaten by the only Croatian Luka Modric in 2018, placed third in 2019 and second in 2020. De Bruyne had been placed eighth in this ranking in 2018 just behind Eden Hazard . Last year the Manchester City strategist was not in the list of the eleven finalists. In contrast, the Red Devil was in the ideal XI of the season. A place that Eden Hazard got in 2018 and 2019.

The five players selected for the title of best goalkeeper are the Brazilian Alisson Becker (Liverpool), awarded in 2019, the Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan / PSG), the Senegalese Édouard Mendy (Chelsea), the German Manuel Neuer ( Bayern Munich), winner last year, and Dane Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City).

On the women’s side, FC Barcelona, ​​winner of the Champions League, has four representatives with the Spaniards Aitana Bonmati, Jennifer Hermoso and Alexia Putellas, and the Norwegian Caroline Graham-Hansen. Four Chelsea players are also selected: the Swedish Magdalena Eriksson, the Danish Pernille Harder, the South Korean Jo So-yun and the Australian Samantha Kerr). Sweden’s Stina Blackstenius (BK Häcken), Canada’s Christine Sinclair (Portland Towns) and the latest winner England’s Lucy Bronze (Manchester City) complete the list.

The German Thomas Tuchel, winner of the Champions League with Chelsea after being disembarked from PSG, is a candidate for the male coach of the year award, alongside the coach of the Italian European champions Roberto Mancini, his compatriot Antonio Conte (Inter Milan then Tottenham), German Hansi Flick (Bayern Munich then German selection), Spaniard Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Argentines Lionel Sebastian Scaloni (Argentine selection) and Diego Simeone (Atlético de Madrid ). All hope to succeed the German Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) winner in 2019 and 2020.

The winners will be chosen by an online vote of “football fans”, until midnight 10 December on the website.

The three finalists in each category will be announced « early January 2022 » and the award ceremony is scheduled for January 17 in Zurich.


Laisser un commentaire