The Astros in the American West

MILWAUKEE — Major League Baseball owners have unanimously approved the sale of Drayton McLane’s Houston Astros to Jim Crane. The Astros will also move from the National Division Central to the American Division West in the 2013 season, meaning each league will have 15 teams.

Since Crane agreed to transfer the team from one league to another, the sale price was reduced from US$680 million to US$615 million, according to a person present at the meeting. at The Associated Press. The person spoke on condition of anonymity as no details have been officially announced.

Major League Baseball will repay a portion of the $65 million difference by returning $35 million to McLane over three years.

Commissioner Bud Selig also confirmed that the owners have agreed to increase the number of teams that will qualify for the playoffs by two, which means that 10 of the 30 teams will participate in the prom. Selig added that the details of the new playoff system are not yet in place. The Players Association is in favor of this decision.

MLB divisions as of the 2013 season

American League

New York Yankees
Tampa Bay Rays
Boston Red Sox
Toronto Blue Jays
Baltimore Orioles

Detroit Tigers
Cleveland Indians
Chicago White Sox
Kansas City Royals
Minnesota Twins

Texas Rangers
Los Angeles Angels
Oakland Athletics
Seattle Mariners
*Houston Astros

National League

Philadelphia Phillies
Atlanta Braves
washington nationals
New York food
Miami Marlins

Milwaukee Brewers
St. Louis Cardinals
Cincinnatti Reds
Pittsburgh Pirates
Chicago Cubs

Arizona Diamond Backs
San Francisco Giants
Los Angeles Dodgers
Colorado Rockies
San Diego Padres

Laisser un commentaire