the 3 finalists revealed, with 2 Senegalese!


mané mendy

The hour of the verdict is approaching! Just over 24 hours from the CAF Awards ceremonywhich will be organized on Thursday evening in Rabat, Morocco, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) unveiled this Wednesday the list of 3 finalists in each of the major categories.

For the long-awaited title of African Player of the Year, we find as expected the big favorite Sadio Mané, defending champion, but also a second Senegalese, Edouard Mendy, in the company of the Egyptian Mohamed Salah. If the Mané-Salah duo was expected, the race for 3rd place was announced to be open and it is therefore Mendy, who would certainly have won the 2021 edition if it had taken place, who completes the cast. The big disappointments will be the Algerian Riyad Mahrez and the Ivorian Sébastien Haller, who could aim for the podium thanks to their performances in club but who shone less in selection.

More suspense in the other categories

Moroccan Achraf Dari (Wydad Casablanca), Malian Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly) and Egyptian Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly) will compete for the title of Interclub Player of the Year. Tunisian Hannibal Mejbri (Manchester United), Ivorian Karim Konaté (RB Salzburg) and Senegalese Pape Matar Sarr (Tottenham) are in the fight for the title of Young Player of the Year, while Carlos Queiroz and Walid Regragui will be the competitors of Aliou Cissé, promised the title of coach of the year.

Finally, among women, the title of Player of the Year will be decided between Cameroonian Ajara Nchout Njoya (Inter Milan), Nigerian Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona) and Zambian Grace Chanda (BIIK Kazygurt).

As a reminder, these results are the result of a vote carried out by a jury made up of the Technical Commission of CAF, journalists, coaches and captains of CAF member associations and clubs involved in the group stage of club competitions for the 2021/2022 season.

The list of CAF Awards finalists

Player of the Year

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Karim Konaté (Ivory Coast & ASEC / RB Salzburg)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the year (men’s soccer)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

club of the year (men’s soccer)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (men’s soccer)

Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates)

Pope Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Inter Milan)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Interclub Player of the Year

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Young player of the year

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Coach of the year (women’s football)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

club of the year (women’s football)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)


Laisser un commentaire