The 2023 IndyCar grid with 27 cars, a record since 2011

There are going to be a lot of people in IndyCar this season. The recent formalizations of Takuma Sato at Chip Ganassi Racing and rookie Sting Ray Robb at Dale Coyne Racing were the final pieces of the now complete 2023 grid puzzle. The field will therefore be made up of 27 cars for all rounds of the championship. A number that had not been reached since 2011! Last year, excluding the Indy500, 26 single-seaters were entered full-time.

A 28th car will also be on the grid for the oval races, entered by Ed Carpenter and his eponymous team. The last time IndyCar started with 28 drivers (outside of the Indy 500) was at the 2021 Long Beach Grand Prix. From a manufacturers perspective, Honda will field 15 cars and Chevrolet will equip 12 single-seaters (as well as that of Carpenter on the ovals).

Five champions and four rookies in 2023

In 2023, the grid will be made up of 4 rookies: Marcus Armstrong (Chip Ganassi Racing), Sting Ray Robb (Dale Coyne Racing), Benjamin Pedersen (AJ Foyt Racing) and Agustin Canapino (Juncos Hollinger Racing). There will also be 5 IndyCar champions present for this 2023 season, with Will Power (Penske), Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing), Alex Palou (Chip Ganassi Racing), Josef Newgarden (Penske) and Frenchman Simon Pagenaud (Meyer Shank Racing ).

For the Indianapolis 500 Miles, 31 entries have been confirmed so far with Tony Kanaan (Arrow McLaren Racing), Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport) and Stefan Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing). The 2023 IndyCar season kicks off at the Firestone Grand Prix in St. Petersburg, Florida, March 3-5.

The 2023 IndyCar grid

Honda (15 cars)

Andretti Autosport : Colton Herta – Romain Grosjean – Devlin DeFrancesco – Kyle Kirkwood

Chip Ganassi Racing : Scott Dixon – Marcus Ericsson – Alex Palou – Marcus Armstrong (road and circuit races) – Takuma Sato (oval races).

Dale Coyne Racing : David Malukas – Sting Ray Robb

Meyer Shank Racing : Helio Castroneves – Simon Pagenaud

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing : Graham Rahal – Jack Harvey – Christian Lundgaard

Chevrolet (12 cars)

AJ Foyt Racing : Santino Ferrucci – Benjamin Pedersen

Arrow McLaren Racing : Pato O’Ward – Felix Rosenqvist – Alexander Rossi

Ed Carpenter Racing : Conor Daly – Rinus VeeKay (+ Ed Carpenter on oval races)

Juncos Hollinger Racing : Callum Ilott – Agustin Canapino.

Team Penske : Will Power – Josef Newgarden – Scott McLaughlin

READ ALSO> They will make 2023 in Indycar and NASCAR

Laisser un commentaire