The 1992 DAYTONA 500 – NASCAR Cup Series

Relive in full the opening event of the 1992 NASCAR Cup Series season, the DAYTONA 500.

The 1992 NASCAR Premier Division season opens at Daytona International Speedway with the biggest race of the season.

Five-time NASCAR Cup Series champion at the end of the 1991 season, Dale Earnhardt is still chasing a victory in the most prestigious race of the season.

After two failed attempts in 1990 in 1991, Dale Earnhardt intends to set the record straight in 1992. Winner of his Duel, a habit during the 1990s, he started from third position. Sterling Marlin took pole ahead of Junior Johnson & Associates teammate Bill Elliott.

This is the last participation in this race for two big names in motorsport, Richard Petty and AJ Foyt. Seven-time NASCAR champion, Richard Petty is also seven-time winner of the DAYTONA 500 in 1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979 and 1981. As for AJ Foyt, if he especially made a name for himself in the world of single-seaters with seven titles. However, he also has seven NASCAR Premier Division wins, including the DAYTONA 500 in 1972.

The 1992 DAYTONA 500s

Relive more historic NASCAR races by following this link.

Laisser un commentaire