Soccer – MLS unveils list of top 25 players in history

Canadian Dwayne De Rosario is in the top 25 in MLS history Canadian Dwayne De Rosario, who has won numerous awards and championships in MLS, is included in the list of the 25 best players in the history of the circuit Garber.

The midfielder and forward, who retired in 2015, and the only Canadian on the list, which is part of the Garber Circuit’s 25th anniversary celebrations.

De Rosario is notably accompanied by the former Toronto FC color-bearer Sebastian Giovinco, the Englishman David Beckham, the Colombian Carlos Valderrama and the Americans Landon Donovan, Chris Wondolowski, Clint Dempsey and Cobi Jones.

No Impact player can be found in this select group, chosen by some 200 players and ex-players of the league, coaches, staff and the media.

The former striker Ignacio Piatti and goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts, who also wore the blue white black, were however among the list of 137 finalists. Thierry henry, current Impact head coach, was also one of the finalists for his years with the New York Red Bulls.

The 25 players, who are not ranked because they are « all equally deserving » according to MLS, were selected for their impact on and off the field.

Here are the 25 selected players:

Jeff Agoos, Kyle Beckerman, David Beckham, Carlos Bocanegra, Dwayne De Rosario, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Marco Etcheverry, Robin Fraser, Sebastian Giovinco, Kevin Hartman, Cobi Jones, Robbie Keane, Chad Marshall, Josef Martinez, Tony Meola, Jaime Moreno, Eddie Pope, Preki, Steve Ralston, Nick Rimando, Carlos Valderrama, Diego Valeri, Chris Wondolowski, Bradley Wright-Phillips.

Laisser un commentaire