Saint-Louis GP: Newgarden wins the race and puts pressure on Power

Clément Pédron, Media365, published on Sunday August 21, 2022 at 10:19 am

Josef Newgarden won the Saint-Louis Grand Prix on Saturday ahead of David Malukas and Scott McLaughlin. The Australian is back in the race for the title, three points behind Will Power, current leader, two races from the end of the season.

In the rain of Madison, Illinois, Josef Newgarden (Penske) proved to be the most skilful to sign his fifth victory of the season, Saturday on the oval circuit of Gateway, the last of the 2022 financial year. success, the Australian offers himself a great close in the general classification with two races to go (Portland and Laguna Seca) on Will Power (Penske). Moreover, he is not the only one to have repositioned himself for the title in Indycar – he is three points behind Power – since the Top 7 is decided on 58 points! Starting from pole position (the 67th of his career, tied with legend Mario Andretti), Power led the race at breakneck speed for 128 laps before the rain disrupted the race. First neutralized, the latter was finally interrupted, the time that the storm passed. At that time, Scott McLaughlin (Penske) was in the lead thanks to a successful pit stop ahead of Josef Newgarden, Pato O’Ward (Arrow McLaren), Will Power and rookie David Makulas (Dale Coyne Racing).

A two-hour break

Two hours after the appearance of the rain and after having received the approval of the race marshals, the pilots proceeded to the restart, with 43 laps to go until the finish. And in this little game, Josef Newgarden gave McLaughlin no chance. The Australian stole first place from his teammate at Penske and never let go. Behind him, the main protagonists of the championship fought an incredible battle, like David Makulas for his first season in the category. The Lithuanian-American gave everything to get his first career podium less than a second behind Newgarden and ahead of McLaughlin. Slower than before the arrival of the rain, Power was ranked sixth and retained the overall lead. Qualified 9th but left 18th due to a penalty, Romain Grosjean (Andretti) took 13th place. Victim of a puncture, Simon Pagenaud (Meyer Shank Racing) lost a few places at the finish (20th).

Laisser un commentaire