Nineteenth winner Chris Buescher – NASCAR Cup Series

By winning at Bristol, Chris Buescher became the nineteenth winner of the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season, equaling the 2001 record.

Prior to Bristol, Chris Buescher had only one career victory 222 races ago in Pocono’s second race of the 2016 season, a rain-shortened race. On the Bristol Motor Speedway, it offers his first victory to Brad Keselowski as an owner in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Chris Buescher took advantage of a good strategy from his team manager, Scott Graves, who chose to take only two new tires at the last stop, to become the nineteenth different winner of the 2022 season. Chris Buescher signs his second victory in the NASCAR Cup Series on the occasion of his two hundred and fiftieth start in the discipline.

It’s incredible. I love this track. Every time you come here, it’s special. Brad (Keselowski) was also very fast.

Chris Buescher

Under the checkered flag, Chris Buescher leads Chase Elliott, William Byron, Christopher Bell, Kyle Larson, Ross Chastain, AJ Allmendinger, Cole Custer, Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick for the top 10.

Team Penske and Joe Gibbs Racing in the tough

From the first segment, two of the Team Penske drivers were in great difficulty. Austin Cindric, winner of the DAYTONA 500, punctures and quickly finds himself at four laps. Then a few moments later, it was Ryan Blaney who had a mechanical problem at the rear. Result of many laps behind.

Team Penske is relentless in its repairs in order to save the maximum possible points for Ryan Blaney. Ryan Blaney will manage to get back on track at the start of the last segment with 152 laps behind.

Kyle Busch says goodbye to the title on lap 269, due to engine failure. Forced to retire, he joined his teammate Martin Truex Jr. who had to dismount following a mechanical problem.

An accident at the start of the third segment involves many title contenders, Daniel Suárez, Ross Chastain, Tyler Reddick, Austin Dillon and Alex Bowman. The last two cities are forced to abandon.

The four drivers eliminated from the title race at the end of this first round of the playoffs are Tyler Reddick, Kyle Busch Austin Dillon and Kevin Harvick.

The Bass Pro Shops Night Race in a nutshell

Segment 1: Brad Keselowski, Christopher Bell, Kyle Busch, Chase Briscoe, Kyle Larson, Alex Bowman, Chris Buescher, Tyler Reddick, William Byron and Martin Truex Jr.

Segment 2: Christopher Bell, Ross Chastain, Chase Briscoe, Chase Elliott, Kyle Busch, Alex Bowman, William Byron, Austin Dillon, Kyle Larson, Kevin Harvick

Next week, round two will kick off at Texas Motor Speedway.

Laisser un commentaire