Nigeria roster to face Ghana

Eliminated by Tunisia at the stage of the round of 16 of the CAN, Nigeria must raise their heads if they want to be one of the five African nations qualified for the World Cup in Qatar. Appointed just before the major competition on the African continent to replace Gernot Rohr, coach Augustine Eguavoen had passed the group stage without incident (3 wins), before falling to the Eagles of Carthage as soon as they entered the knockout phase. (0-1).

What’s next after this ad

To face in the play-offs a team from Ghana which for its part did not manage to overcome the obstacle of the CAN pools, on Friday 25 and Tuesday 29 March, and try to secure a seventh participation in the final phase of the Cup du Monde, the Super Eagles will be able to rely on a group of 25 players, including 3 goalkeepers, 8 defenders, 5 midfielders and 9 forwards. Three players from Leicester, three players from Watford, three players from Rangers, to which have just been added Victor Osimhen, absent at the CAN, and the Nantes resident Moses Simon.

Nigeria’s list for World Cup play-offs:

Guardians (3): Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia), Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs), Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam)

Defenders (8): Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion), Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes), Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers), William Ekong (Watford), Olaoluwa Aina (Torino), Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers), Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia), Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto)

Backgrounds (5): Frank Onyeka (Brentford), Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC), Akinkunmi Amoo (FC Copenhagen)

Forwards (9): Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC), Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC), Moses Simon (FC Nantes), Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria), Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Hilal FC), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City ), Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC), Ademola Lookman (Leicester City)

Waiting list : Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC), Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07), Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow), Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin), Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk), Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague), Ogenyi Onazi (Al-Adalah CF)

Laisser un commentaire