NFL: the portrait of the playoffs

The regular season in the NFL is now a thing of the past and the playoffs will be about to begin with teams that we expected and others that we expected less.

With records of 14-3, the Kansas City Chiefs and Philadelphia Eagles have been the top teams this season. Thus, the Chiefs will obtain a pass in the 1st round of the playoffs of the American Association. The Eagles will do the same in the National Association.

Here are the 1st round confrontations.

National association

The Philadelphia Eagles (14-3) will be the team to beat in the National Conference, having been granted a first-round bye.

The Niners have been a force all season. Despite the departure of the two quarterbacks, Jimmy Garoppolo and Trey Lance, it was the very little known Brock Purdy who shone brightly. It must be said that the arrival of carrier Christian Mcaffrey, from the Carolina Panthers, did not hurt. Kyle Shanahan’s men will reunite with rivals Seattle Seahawks, who qualified following a loss to the Green Bay Packers on the very last day of the regular season.

The Vikings’ big purple machine is well-oiled and will face the Giants, who hadn’t qualified for the playoffs since 2016.

Tom Brady’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers (8-9) advanced to the playoffs with their mediocre South Division championship. The Bucs became the sixth team in history to qualify for the playoffs with a negative record. But, Brady never lost to the Cowboys, winning all seven games he played against America’s Team.

American Association

The Kansas City Chiefs (14-3) emulate the Eagles and won’t make the first round due to their dominance in the AFC.

The Bills are a force in the NFL. Due to their quarterback Josh Allen, they have the third-best offense behind the Chiefs and Eagles. Plus, they’ll have extra motivation as they’ll definitely want to go far in the playoffs for teammate Damar Hamlin, who recently suffered a cardiac arrest in a game against the Bengals. The Dolphins, who finished just ahead of the New England Patriots in the East Division standings, qualify for the first time in six years.

The last Super Bowl finalists, the Bengals, had a superb season, unlike the recent champions, the Los Angeles Rams, who were eliminated. Joe Burrow’s gang won’t have it easy though, as they cross swords with Lamar Jackson and the Ravens.

The Jaguars hadn’t qualified for the playoffs since 2017. But they enjoyed a season-ending five-game winning streak and, let’s face it, a rather weak section to secure their qualification.

Laisser un commentaire