new wave in individual rewards


MLB Trophies

After the trophies Gold Glove & Silver Slugger, We Sport takes stock of the individual trophies from the MLB. On the program the ROY, the MOY, the Cy Young and of course the MVP of each conference.


Trophy existing in all major American sports, it is awarded to the best player in the league (here the best player of each conference). Both individual and collective performances are taken into account, in order to see the player’s impact on the results of his team. In MLB, it is often awarded to a fielder (only 11 pitchers have obtained the trophy since the introduction of the Cy young in 1956).

American League: Jose Abreu (1B, Chicago White Sox) [1x MVP]

2020 stats: 60 games played, .317 AVG, .987 OPS, 76 Hits, 43 Runs, 19 Home Runs, 60 RBIs

Author of a breathtaking season statistically (MLB leader in several offensive categories), Jose Abreu logically won this MVP trophy. The first White Sox player to obtain this distinction for twenty-six years, the Cuban becomes at the same time the tenth player to win the title of rookie of the year (2014) then that of MVP during his career.

Other finalists: Jose Ramirez (3B, Cleveland Indians), DJ LeMahieu (2B, New York Yankees)

National League: Freddie Freeman (1B, Atlanta Braves) [1x MVP]

2020 stats: 60 games played, .341 AVG, .1102 OPS, 73 Hits, 51 Runs, 13 Home Runs, 53 RBIs

First Braves player to win this trophy since Hall if Famer Chipper Jones in 1999, Freddie Freeman forgot the league of his talent during this shortened season. In the first two places of almost every offensive statistical category in NL, he was a great architect of the great season of Atlanta and is well ahead of his pursuers.

Other finalists: Mookie Betts (RF, Los Angeles Dodgers), Manny Machado (SS, San Diego Padres)

Cy Young Award

Awarded since 1956, the Cy Young trophy rewards the best pitcher of each conference. His name refers to the pitcher Cy Young, a real reference at the turn of the century and who died in 1955. Note that the creation of this trophy did not prevent some pitchers from also being named MVP, as was the case in 2014 with Clayton Kershaw or in 2011 with Justin Verlander.

American League: Shane Bieber (P, Cleveland Indians) [1x Cy Young]

2020 stats: 77.1 innings pitched, 8W-1L, 1.63 ERA, 122 strikeouts, 2.07 FIP, 0.866 WHIP, 3.3 WAR

Extraordinary season of Shane Bieber, rewarded by this Cy Young obtained unanimously (first player to obtain this honor since Clayton Kershaw in 2014). At 25, the Indians pitcher won the Triple Crown by dominating the number of wins, ERA and strikeouts in AL, but also by finishing first in MLB in various categories. A well-deserved trophy.

Other finalists: Kenta Maeda (P, Minnesota Twins), Hyun Jin-Ryu (P, Toronto Blue Jays)

National League: Trevor Bauer (P, Cincinnati Reds) [1x Cy Young]

2020 stats: 73.0 innings pitched, 5W-4L, 1.73 ERA, 100 strikeouts, 2.88 FIP, 0.795 WHIP, 2.78 WAR

Former Bieber teammate with the Indians, Trevor Bauer became the first pitcher in Reds history to win a Cy Young. Ultra domineering in NL (1er in ERA, ERA +, shutouts) it leaves with twenty-seven first places out of thirty. Free agent in the offseason, he will be one of the most requested players in the market which will open shortly.

Other finalists: Yu Darvish (P, Chicago Cubs), Jacob deGrom (P, New York Mets)

Rookie of the Year

Like the MVP trophy, the rookie of the year award is awarded in all major American sports. He rewards in MLB the best player of each conference playing his first major league season, all positions combined.

American League: Kyle Lewis (CF, Seattle Mariners)

2020 stats: 58 games played, .262 AVG, .801 OPS, 54 Hits, 37 Runs, 11 Home Runs, 28 RBIs

Little suspense as to the American League rookie of the year. Elected unanimously, Kyle Lewis won the award after a successful season in a struggling franchise. He became the first Mariners player to win this trophy since a certain Ichiro Suzuki in 2001.

Other finalists: Luis Robert (CF, Chicago White Sox), Cristian Javier (P, Houston Astros)

National League: Devin Williams (RP, Milwaukee Brewers)

2020 stats: 27.0 innings pitched, 4W-1L, 0.33 ERA, 53 strikeouts, 0.86 FIP, 0.630 WHIP, 1.2 WAR

Uncompromising in the bullpen of the Brewers, Devin Williams becomes the first relief pitcher to win the honor since 2011. Williams has allowed only one run during the season, a home run, and then chained twenty meetings without collecting the slightest point. Staggering.

Other finalists: Alec Bohm (3B, Philadelphia Phillies), Jake Cronenworth (2B, San Diego Padres)

Manager of the Year

Another trophy awarded in all major American sports. It rewards the best coach of the season in each Major League conference.

American League: Kevin Cash (Tampa Bay Rays) [1x MOY]

2020 stats: 40W-20L, 1er in AL East, eliminated in the Wolrd Series by the Dodgers (4-2)

Author of an exceptional season with Tampa Bay, Kevin Cash logically wins his first managerial title of the year. On the bench for the best team in the American League during the regular season, he managed to take the Rays to the World Series. If Florida fell short of the title, the franchise clinched its first division title since 2010 and a second AL Pennant in its history.

Other finalists: Rick Renteria (Chicago White Sox), Charlie Montoyo (Toronto Blue Jays)

National League: Don Mattingly (Miami Marlins) [1x MOY]

2020 stats: 31W-29L, 2e in NL East, eliminated in NLDS by the Braves (3-0)

Despite an almost neutral record, the Marlins obtained their first qualification in the playoffs since 2003. An exceptional performance made possible by the work of Don Mattingly, who had to deal with cases of Covid-19, a lot of movements in the roster (174) and a significant number (18) of players making their debut in MLB. The icing on the cake, Miami even spent a round in posteason by sweeping the Cubs (3-0). Hat.

Other finalists: Jayce Tingler (San Diego Padres), David Ross (Chicago Cubs)

Reliever of the Year

The relief pitcher position is generally not well promoted in MLB, with players playing in this position rarely being rewarded with other trophies (9 relief pitchers won the Cy Young, while only Jim Konstanty won the MVP trophy in 1950). This trophy therefore rewards the best relief pitcher in each conference since 2014, replacing the Delivery Man of The Year which rewarded the best relief pitcher in the league between 2005 and 2013.

American League: Liam Hendricks (RP, Oakland Athletics) [1x ReOY]

2020 stats: 25.1 innings pitched, 3W-1L, 1.78 ERA, 37 strikeouts, 1.14 FIP, 0.671 WHIP, 1.4 WAR

A benchmark among relief throwers, Liam Hendricks wins his first trophy relieve of the year. Closer of the Athletics, the Australian has been solid throughout the year and quite logically obtains this award.

Other finalists: Alex Colome (RP, Chicago White Sox), Brad Hand (RP, Cleveland Indians)

National League: Devin Williams (RP, Milwaukee Brewers) [1x ReOY]

2020 stats: 27.0 innings pitched, 4W-1L, 0.33 ERA, 53 strikeouts, 0.86 FIP, 0.630 WHIP, 1.2 WAR

Double blow for Williams, already winner of the Rookie of the Year trophy in NL. The native of St Louis dazzled the league with his talent from his first steps on the mound and is already establishing himself as one of the best relievers of the league.

Other finalists: Jeremy Jeffress (RP, Chicago Cubs), Trevor Rosenthal (RP, San Diego Padres)

Distribution of quite new trophies, with each distinction obtained by a player who has never won it. Special winners for a special season, like this shortened season.

Photo Credit: AP Photo / Tony Gutierrez


Laisser un commentaire