New England Revolution’s Bruce Arena Wins MLS Coach of the Year Award

The New England Revolution’s Bruce Arena was named 2021 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year on Monday.

Arena guided the Revs to their first Supporters’ Shield with an MLS record of 73 points during the regular season.

– ESPN + Viewers Guide: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, FA Cup, more

This is the fourth time that Arena has received this award. He joins Bob Bradley as the second coach to win the award with three different clubs, having won it with DC United in 1997 and with the Los Angeles Galaxy in 2009 and 2011.

He is the second Revolutionary coach to claim this honor, joining Steve Nicol in 2002.

Arena is three wins away from its sixth MLS Cup championship. Seeded New England host No. 4 seeded New York City FC in the Eastern Conference semifinals on Tuesday night.

Arena, 70, is the third Revs member to win a regular season award in 2021, joining MLS goalie of the year Matt Turner and returning MLS player of the year Carles Gil.

Arena received 58 percent of the votes from MLS technical staff, players and media. Robin Fraser of the Colorado Rapids was second at 21 percent.

Laisser un commentaire