NASCAR lineup in Las Vegas: start order, pole for Sunday’s playoff race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula used by NASCAR for the majority of Cup races in 2021.

The drivers’ starting positions for the South Point 400, the fourth race of the 2021 Cup Playoffs and the first race of the Round of 12 (7 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25%)
  • Final position of the car owner in the previous race (25%)
  • Team owner’s point ranking (35%)
  • Best lap of the previous race (15%)

NASCAR qualifies for only eight of the 36 Cup Series winning races in the 2021 season. Seven of those races have already been raced; the only race remaining with qualifying is the season-ending Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway in November.

Below is the starting lineup, which was set without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race on the 1.5-mile oval at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR Race Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race in Las Vegas?

Kyle Larson won pole position for Sunday’s race. He is the leader in the elimination points and has just won a victory in Bristol in the last race of the round of 16. Driver Hendrick Motorsports had two top fives and three top 10s in the first three playoff races.

Next to him in the front row is Martin Truex Jr., who won the median round of 16 race in Richmond. Driver Joe Gibbs Racing also had two top five and three top 10 in the round of 16.

MORE: The NASCAR Playoffs, Explained

Under NASCAR playoff rules, the top 12 spots in Sunday’s peloton went to the remaining 12 playoff drivers, but the starting order was based on the mathematical formula NASCAR used for the majority of its races. this season.

NASCAR Cup Playoff Ranking

Kyle Larson leads the playoff points standings as the Round of 12 begins. He is 30 points ahead of runner-up Martin Truex Jr. Tied for third place, Denny Hamlin and Ryan Blaney, five more points behind.

On the other side are the drivers below the round of 16 cup line: Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Christopher Bell and Kevin Harvick. Logano is however only one point behind eighth pilot William Byron.

MORE: Harvick and Elliott face off during, after Bristol race

A playoff driver who wins a race in the Round of 12 automatically advances to the Round of 8.

Pos. Driver Points
1 Kyle larson 3059
2 Martin Truex Jr. 3029
3 Denny hamlin 3024
4 Ryan blaney 3024
5 Kyle busch 3022
6 Chase Elliott 3021
7 Alex Bowman 3015
8 Guillaume Byron 3014
9 Joey logano 3013
ten Brad Keselowski 3008
11 Christophe bell 3005
12 Kevin harvic 3002

NASCAR starting eleven in Las Vegas

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to define the starting lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, South Point 400. Thirty-eight cars were entered for the race. Playoff drivers are designated with “P-” next to their names.

Pos. starting Driver Car number Team
1 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
2 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Penske team
3 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
5 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Race
6 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
7 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
8 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
9 Joey logano 22 Penske team
ten P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
11 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Christophe Bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
13 Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
15 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
16 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
17 Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas Race
18 Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
19 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Race
20 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
21 Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Girls Race
23 Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsports in the first row
24 Ryan precece 37 JTG Girls Race
25 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Daniel Suarez 99 Track race
27 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
28 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Race
29 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
30 Garrett smithley 53 Rick ware racing
31 Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
32 Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsports in the first row
33 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
34 BJ McLeod 78 Experience fast motorsports
35 Cody ware 51 Small items shopping
36 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Race
37 Joey Gase 15 Rick ware racing
38 JJ Yeley 66 Business management in motorsport

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *