NASCAR celebrates its champions in Nashville

NASCAR’s star drivers will walk the red carpet for the third straight year in the country music capital of the world. The champions of the three major NASCAR series will come to receive their trophies: Joey Logano in the Cup Series, Ty Gibbs in the Xfinity Series and Zane Smith in the Truck Series.

Joey Logano, 2022 NASCAR Cup Series Champion © Meg Oliphant/Getty Images

All the drivers present in the Playoffs this season in the three series will also be present, and a special tribute should be paid to Kurt Busch, 2004 Cup Series Champion, who announced his retirement from sport at the end of this season.

The nomination of the most popular driver of the season will be a highlight of the ceremonies. Awarded by the fans, this award is well worth a title for the most popular mechanical discipline on the American continent. Winner in 2021, Chase Elliott received this award for four consecutive seasons, but the undisputed record holder remains Dale Earnhardt Jr. acclaimed by the public for 15 consecutive years between 2003 and 2017!

10 drivers are in the running this year: Christopher Bell, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kyle Busch, Ross Chastain, Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano and Martin Truex Jr.

The young Texan singer Erin Kinsey will perform on this occasion on the Music City Center stage. Although not popular in Europe, an interesting parallel with NASCAR, the 22-year-old artist can boast a record 40 million streams to date. Last May, she performed the American anthem at the opening of the Xfinity series round at the Texas Motor Speedway.

NASCAR wouldn’t be NASCAR without a little sound, fury and burnt gum. The festive week will end with wheel changing demonstrations and a Burn Out contest in the streets of Nashville.

Laisser un commentaire