NASCAR: 4 drivers for a title

It’s the end of another long season that will crown the NASCAR Cup champion tomorrow at the Phoenix, Arizona circuit.

• Read also: Alex Labbé wants to finish in style

Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr., Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson

Courtesy photo

Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr., Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson

As has been the tradition since 2014, only four drivers are in the running for top honors. They are Kyle Larson, Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr. and Chase Elliott.

The latter, crowned last year, will try to become the first since Jimmie Johnson in 2010 to successfully defend his title.

To be champion at the end of this final confrontation, a finalist does not have to win the race. Getting ahead of the other three at the finish line will be enough for him to lift the precious trophy. Points accumulated in previous elimination rounds no longer have any meaning. May the best win !

However, if a victory in Phoenix is ​​not a guarantee of success, it is clear that all the champions since 2014 crossed the checkered flag in the first row during the last decisive race.

Regular season champion Larson is considered the favorite to win his first NASCAR Cup title.

Not only has he registered nine wins, more than anyone this season (Truex and Alex Bowman have four each), but three of them have come in his last four starts.

« I’m not nervous, at least for now, » Larson told a press conference Thursday. But I’m sure I’ll get butterflies in my stomach when the green flag is waved on Sunday [demain] in Phoenix. « 

Powerful stables

A member of the renowned Hendrick team, like Elliott, Larson is aiming for a first NASCAR Cup triumph. He is also the only one among the four candidates for the title to have never played a final.

It will also be a two-team fight as the other contenders, Truex and Hamlin, defend the colors of Joe Gibbs’ no less powerful team.

Hamlin is also looking for a first crown in the main discipline of the American stock car.

♦ The kick-off of this fateful event will be given at 3 pm.

Latest NASCAR Cup Champions

  • 2020 | Chase Elliott
  • 2019 | Kyle busch
  • 2018 | Joey logano
  • 2017 | Martin Truex Jr.
  • 2016 | Jimmie johnson
  • 2015 | Kyle busch
  • 2014 | Kevin harvick
  • 2013 | Jimmie johnson
  • 2012 | Brad Keselowski
  • 2011 | Tony stewart
  • 2010 | Jimmie johnson


Laisser un commentaire