McLaren becomes owner of its IndyCar team

McLaren’s agreement to acquire a 75% stake in its IndyCar affiliate, Arrow McLaren SP, has now been concluded.

McLaren Racing announced in August an agreement to buy a controlling stake in AMSP, the IndyCar joint venture between McLaren and Schmidt Peterson Motorsports. The transaction between the two entities, the financial terms of which were not disclosed, is now completed.

The team’s name and operations in Indianapolis will remain unchanged, while further integration with McLaren’s staff and technical resources in Woking is planned.

The team will be managed by a five-person board of directors chaired by Zak Brown, CEO of McLaren Racing, which will include three people appointed by McLaren Racing as well as former team owners Sam Schmidt and Ric Peterson.

Taylor Kiel will remain chairman of Arrow McLaren SP and « Will be accountable to Brown and the Board of Directors for the overall operations and performance of the team », according to a statement from McLaren.

IndyCar’s 2022 season kicks off on February 27 in the streets of St. Petersburg. Arrow McLaren SP’s line-up for next year’s campaign remains unchanged with Pato O’Ward finishing third in the championship this year and Felix Rosenqvist.

Discover the girlfriends of f1 drivers in our gallery.

Follow F1 news in real time with F1i on Facebook and Twitter.

Laisser un commentaire