List of Rookie of the Year nominees

Rookie of the Year nominees

Eleven candidates will compete for 2022 Rookie of the Year honors in NASCAR’s three national series. In the NASCAR Cup Series, Austin Cindric, Harrison Burton and Todd Gilliland will battle it out for Rookie of the Year.

Cindric, the 2020 NASCAR Xfinity Series champion, posted 13 wins, 62 Top-5s and 89 Top-10s in four full-time seasons for Jack Roush and Roger Penske. Very solid at Xfinity level, Cindric was promoted to driving the No. 2 Penske in the NASCAR Cup Series alongside Joey Logano and Ryan Blaney. Cindric already has seven Cup starts.

No stranger to battles with Cindric, Burton also rose through the ranks to become the youngest driver to drive full-time for Wood Brothers Racing. Burton has spent two seasons in Xfinity with four wins in 2020.

Gilliland rises to the highest level after 93 starts and two victories in the Camping World Truck Series. He will drive alongside Michael McDowell.

In Xfinity, the candidates for Rookie of the Year are Sheldon Creed, Austin Hill and Jesse Iwuji.

Creed and Hill will be making their first full-time seasons at this level after several successful years in the Camping World Truck Series. Creed and Hill will both be drivers for Richard Childress Racing. Iwuji will make his full-time NASCAR debut after forming his own team – Jesse Iwuji Motorsports.

Jack Wood (GMS Racing), Dean Thompson (Niece Motorsports), Lawless Alan (Niece Motorsports), Corey Heim (Kyle Busch Motorsports) and Blaine Perkins (CR7 Motorsports) are this season’s contenders in the Camping World Truck Series.

Laisser un commentaire