Kompany in the Hall of Fame: the English just have to watch out

Officially introduced this Thursday by the Premier League, the former Red Devil is the first defender to receive this honor.

The circle of elected officials is still very thin. At the end of this second crowning salvo, eight players joined the eight others already chosen in 2021, during the first promotion. Vincent Kompany is one of them. Like Didier Drogba, Sergio Aguero, Wayne Rooney, Patrick Vieira, Paul Scholes, Ian Wright and Kasper Schmeichel. Four attackers, two midfielders and a goalkeeper.

In fact, no defender other than Vincent Kompany has been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame. Whether in 2022 or 2021, where the choices also mainly fell on attacking players: Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane and Denis Bergkamp. Accompanied by three English midfielders: David Beckham, Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard.

Laisser un commentaire