Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernandez on the preliminary list for the Mexico Gold Cup; Rogelio Funes Mori too

Javier « Chicharito » Hernandez is on Mexico’s preliminary list for next month’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, which also includes Monterrey forward Rogelio Funes Mori.

It would be Hernandez’s first potential call-up in nearly two years, as Mexico’s all-time top scorer last appeared in a friendly against the United States in September 2019.

– Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN + (US only)
– ESPN + spectator guide: Bundesliga, La Liga, MLS, FA Cup and more

Funes Mori recently obtained his Mexican citizenship, which allows him to file a single transfer request from Argentina to represent El Tri. Born in Mendoza and partially raised in the United States, Funes Mori made an appearance for The Albiceleste in 2012.

The 30-year-old former River Plate man has been seen as a viable No.9 option for Mexico as Raul Jimenez remains out of action with a skull injury sustained in November. Since arriving at Rayados in 2015, Funes Mori scored 121 goals in all competitions, helping them win the 2019 Liga MX Apertura title and the 2019 CONCACAF Champions League.

Hernandez has said on several occasions that he is ready to play for Mexico again, but that it was up to Mexico coach Gerardo « Tata » Martino to select him for the final squad. The LA Galaxy forward is having a stellar season in his second year in Major League Soccer, scoring seven goals and providing one assist in seven games.

“As far as the Mexican national team is concerned, as I said before, it is an honor to be taken into consideration, but it is too early to speak on this subject and I have not spoken of anything to Gerardo Martino, ”Hernandez said earlier this week.

Teams must submit their 23-player rosters by June 30. A team can replace an injured player up to one day before their first match.

Other notable players on the list include Club America goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa, Porto winger Jesus « Tecatito » Corona, Napoli dangerman Hirving « Chucky » Lozano, Ajax Amsterdam defender Edson Alvarez, midfielder. Atletico Madrid midfielder Hector Herrera and Real Betis duo Andres Guardado and Diego Lainez. All of these players were part of the 3-2 loss to USMNT in the CONCACAF Nations League Final on June 6.

Mexico are looking to defend their Gold Cup title by beating the United States 1-0 in Chicago in the 2019 edition.

Mexico will face Curacao, El Salvador and a qualifier are in Group A when the group stage begins on July 10. Group B will see the United States, Martinique, Canada and a qualifying match; Costa Rica, Jamaica, Suriname and one qualifier are in Group C; and Grenada, Honduras, Panama and guest Qatar are in Group D.

The first two nations of each group advance. The final will take place on August 1 in Las Vegas.


Goalkeepers: Rodolfo Cota (León), Hugo González (Bravos de Ciudad Juárez), Guillermo Ochoa (América), Jonathan Orozco (Tijuana), Alfredo Talavera (Pumas).

Defenders: Kevin Álvarez (Pachuca), Edson Álvarez (Ajax), Jesús Alberto Angulo (Atlas), Néstor Araujo (Celta de Vigo), Gerardo Arteaga (Genk), José Joaquín Esquivel (Bravos), Víctor Guzmán (Xolos), Vladimiros Loroña (Xolos) )), Alejandro Mayorga (Chivas), César Montes (Monterrey), Héctor Moreno (Monterrey), Alan Mozo (Pumas), Diego Reyes (Tigres), Luis Rodriguez (Tigres), Osvaldo Rodríguez (León), Luis Romo (Cruz Azul ), Carlos Salcedo (Tigres), Jorge Sánchez (America), Gilberto Sepúlveda (Chivas), Johan Vásquez (Pumas).

Midfielder : Érick Aguirre (Pachuca), Jesús Ricardo Angulo (Chivas), Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul), Fernando Beltrán (Chivas), Alan Cervantes (Santos Laguna), Luis Chávez (Pachuca), Sebastián Córdova (America), Jonathan Dos Santos (Los Angeles Galaxy), Jesús Gallardo (Monterrey), Andrés Guardado (Real Betis), Érick Gutiérrez (PSV Eindhoven), Héctor Herrera (Atletico Madrid), Diego Lainez (Real Betis), Miguel Layún (América), Érik Lira (Pumas), Orbelín Pineda (Cruz Azul), José Rodríguez (León), Carlos Rodríguez (Monterrey), Jairo Torres (Atlas).

Forward: Efraín Álvarez (Galaxy), Uriel Antuna (Chivas), Jesus Corona (Porto), Roberto de la Rosa (Pachuca), Rogelio Funes Mori (Monterrey), Santiago Giménez (Cruz Azul), Javier Hernández (Galaxy), Hirving Lozano (Napoli) ), José Juan Macías (Chivas), Henry Martín (América), Rodolfo Pizarro (Inter Miami), Alan Pulido (Sporting Kansas City), Marcel Ruíz (Tijuana), Érick Sánchez (Pachuca), Alexis Vega (Chivas), Alejandro Zendejas (Necaxa).

Laisser un commentaire