Indycar: Victory for Scott McLaughlin in Portland; Will Power still leading the championship

Sunday, September 4, 2022 by Marie-Lyse Tremblay

It seemed easy for Scott McLaughlin to win the Portland Grand Prix. Predicting who will be the IndyCar series champion in a week will be much more difficult… The New Zealand driver from Team Penske (Dallara-Chevrolet) completely dominated the event presented this Sunday at the Portland International Raceway circuit, en route to his third victory of the season after taking pole position in qualifying.

McLaughlin crossed the finish line 1.1792 seconds ahead of teammate and series leader Will Power of Australia. Scott Dixon (Dallara-Honda/Chip Ganassi Racing) finished third after starting from 16th place, maintaining his hopes of a seventh title at the final which will take place next week in Laguna Seca (California).

With his victory today, McLaughlin will be one of five drivers eligible to win this 2022 title, along with Power, Dixon, Josef Newgarden and Marcus Ericsson. Note that Power’s lead went from three to 20 points over Newgarden at the end of today’s race, which was rather calm, with very few twists. Dixon is also 20 points but is third in the standings due to fewer wins than Newgarden this season.

Pato O’Ward (Dallara-Chevrolet / Arrow McLaren) finished fourth but that was not enough to allow the Mexican to stay in the title race. Graham Rahal (Dallara-Honda/Team Rahal) completed the Top 5, ahead of Andretti Autosport drivers Colton Herta and Alexander Rossi. Ericsson, rookie Calum Ilott and Felix Rosenqvist followed in 8th, 9th and 10th places.

Canadians Devlin DeFrancesco and Dalton Kellett finished 16th and 22nd, respectively. Packed into the wall by Rinus VeeKay in the 83rd of the 110 all races, Jimmie Johnson had to give up. Disappointment also for Romain Grosjean (19th) and Simon Pagenaud (23rd). For the full ranking, click here.

Laisser un commentaire