Indycar – Detroit: race 1, Grosjean in the wall, 1st victory for Ericsson (classification)

romain grosjean

A crazy race! That’s the word that determines Indycar’s first Detroit Grand Prix race, which sees Marcus Ericsson, former Sauber Formula 1 driver, win to become the 7th different winner of the season. While the French, although they got off to a good start in qualifying, got their feet wet in this endless race.

The French in trouble in Detroit

Indeed, the race promised to be brilliant for the tricolors; but that was without counting on the pitfalls of the Belle Isle route. First Felix Rosenqvist, author of a very big crash interrupting the race for almost 1 hour; then Romain Grosjean. The two pilots, authors of two crashes, planted their cars in the wall, causing the exit of the red flag and many twists. Especially on the French side, with Sébastien Bourdais who suffered but remained very consistent throughout the race; to finally reach the 11th square. While Simon Pagenaud was in a good position throughout the race for a new top 6; only after the last restart, 5 laps from the finish, the Indycar champion was fooled by the hard battle of the peloton and the big arms around him to fall to 12thposition.

It was finally Marcus Ericsson who scored his first victory in the discipline, ahead of Rinus Veekay and Pato O’Ward, who had a very good race, especially in the peloton with very incisive overtaking. And on the side of the former Formula 1 drivers, we find Takuma Sato, once again very impressive but who misses the mark at the end of the race and finishes 4th, at the foot of the podium. Next meeting, June 13 for the second race on the same route in Detroit.

Race 1 classification

  • Marcus Ericsson
  • Rinus Veekay
  • Pato O’Ward
  • Takuma Sato
  • Graham rahal
  • Santino Ferrucci
  • Alexander rossi
  • Scott Dixon
  • Ed jones
  • Josef newgarden
  • Sebastien bourdais
  • Simon pagenaud
  • Conor Daly
  • Colton Herta
  • Alex Palou
  • Jack Harvey
  • James hinchcliffe
  • Dalton kellett
  • Scott McLaughlin
  • Will power
  • Ryan hunter-reay
  • Max Chilton
  • Romain Grosjean (DNF)
  • Jimmie Johnson (DNF)
  • Felix Rosenqvist (DNF)

Laisser un commentaire