Indy 500: Castroneves winner for the 4th time, Pagenaud 3rd [classement]

For the 105th edition of the 500 miles of Indianapolis, Helio Castroneves came for the 4th time in history to win and drink your skimmed milk on this mythical podium; belonging to the triple crown.

Castroneves, a little more in the legend

Party of 8th Position on the starting grid, Helio Castroneves was a master in management and strategy. The Brazilian was discreet at the start of the race. Little by little, the 46-year-old driver was able to find opportunities, especially after Stefan Wilson’s accident in the pits, to end up climbing in the standings; until rolling with the leading group.

From there, the key word was experience. The current quadruple winner of the Indy 500 managed to perfectly execute his strategy while battling the rookies around him. To finally win his fourth Indy 500 of his career, and enter a very closed circle.

Simon Pagenaud, France in the spotlight

Even if Sébastien Bourdais, one of our two French, did not have the race he deserved by finishing in the 26th position; Simon Pagenaud has once again proven the extent of his talent.

Starting from the 26th position, the French suffered a race strewn with pitfalls. During the first part of the test, the French had a hard time getting back up. Between managing his race and his pace, the ex-winner of the Indy 500 was discreet and managed to climb up to the 15th position.

But it is in the second part of the race that the native of Montmorillon puts himself a little more on the front of the stage. In particular thanks to his strategy and a surplus of aggressiveness, the Frenchman managed to climb back up among the leading group until he recovered the last step of the podium in the last lap, on O’Ward.

Colton Herta, Alex Palou, Patricio O’Ward and Rinus Veekay, the succession is assured

If some remained discreet, the rookies animated the entire race. Already in qualifying the three pilots had shone, ranking 2th, 3th and 6th. In the race, they will continue their efforts to be part of the group fighting for the head of the race, for almost all for some.

At the start of the race, it was above all Colton Herta and Rinus Veekay, who fought for the lead. Very impressive, the rookies only traded first place, first by surprising Scott Dixon, and resisting his assaults, before his problem in the pits; Firstly. Then in a second step, the two also fought and managed to hold out against the intrepid Connor Daly, playing at home. While Alex Palou and Patricio O’Ward, meanwhile, stayed a little further back, while remaining in contact with the leading group.

From the middle of the race, the Catalan and the Mexican, by playing on the strategy, decide to increase their race pace to reach the top of the leading group. And hold it until the end when Helio Castroneves decides otherwise. The young Spaniard ultimately ends up at the 2th place and the McLaren driver ends his race in the 4th position.

While the other two rookies only fell at the end of the race. Mainly Herta, who from the halfway point and due to the lack of experience, could not manage his race pace, to fall to 16th position. On the other hand, the Dutchman was able to manage his pace a little better but not enough, to fail in the 8th position.

Unlucky rahal loses a wheel

The most surprising fact of the race is the pit stop, totally missed by Team Rahal. When he comes to a stop, the American driver comes out of his pit with the left rear wheel not tight.

When he begins to take to the track, the wheel in question escapes to land on Conor Daly’s aeroscreen just as the Californian was in the virtual lead of the race.

At the same time, Graham Rahal’s single-seater spun with, fortunately, no other car around it. The native of Columbus comes out unscathed, but his fate could have been different within seconds.

Indianapolis 500 Miles Ranking

    • Helio castroneves
    • Alex Palou
    • Simon pagenaud
    • Patricio o’ward
    • Ed carpenter
    • Santino Ferrucci
    • Sage Karam
    • Rinus Veekay
    • Juan Pablo Montoya
    • Tony kanaan
    • Marcus Ericsson
    • Josef newgarden
    • Conor Daly
    • Takuma Sato
    • JR Hildebrand
    • Colton Herta
    • Scott Dixon
    • Jack Harvey
    • Marco andretti
    • Scott McLaughlin
    • James hinchcliffe
    • Ryan hunter-reay
    • Dalton kellett
    • Max Chilton
    • Pietro fittipaldi
    • Sebastien bourdais
    • Felix Rosenqvist
    • Ed jones
    • Alexander rossi
    • Will power
    • Simona De Silvestro
    • Graham rahal
    • Stefan Wilson

Article forgotten at 6:55 am on 05/31/2021

Laisser un commentaire