Formula 1 | Endurance | Ten former F1 drivers already entered in WEC in 2022

The FIA ​​presented the entry list for the WEC in 2022 and announced a record plateau. Indeed, the Hypercar category will have six teams at its strongest in the Hypercar category, 15 teams in LMP2, five teams in LMGTE Pro, and 13 teams in LMGTE Am.

Among these 39 teams, there will be a total of ten Formula 1 drivers engaged full time on the names announced so far. At Peugeot, Paul Di Resta was appointed as the main driver of car number 93.

Toyota has already announced its duos, which include Kamui Kobayashi, Brendon Hartley (photo) and Sébastien Buemi. There should obviously be many more Formula 1 alumni once the crews are completed. At Peugeot alone, Kevin Magnussen and Jean-Eric Vergne will be added.

In LMP2, we will find Robert Kubica, who engages with Prema Orlen, in addition to his role as reserve at Alfa Romeo. Felipe Nasr is already signed with Penske, and Sébastien Bourdais has also landed a full program.

This will also be the case for former Manor Marussia driver Will Stevens and Mexican Esteban Gutierrez, who remains close to Mercedes in F1, for development and appearances with sponsors.

In GT, only the Italian Gianmaria Bruni, who we could see at Minardi in the early 2000s, will represent the former F1.

Laisser un commentaire