Formula 1 | 2022 F1 Dutch Grand Prix presentation and schedule

Presentation and schedules of the Grand (...)

For the second consecutive year, F1 returns to Zandvoort for the Dutch Grand Prix. A very popular event last year, it should once again attract a large audience.

The new F1 regulations should help the spectacle, which disappointed slightly last year as the cars struggled to follow each other around the circuit’s many bends. This year, the battles on the track should be more numerous.

After the Belgian Grand Prix, and a season that seems to have definitely turned in favor of Max Verstappen and Red Bull, Ferrari will have to do their best to win in order to maintain any semblance of world title hope.

The characteristics of the track

This is the second time that Formula 1 will run on this layout of the Zandvoort circuit. After many years on the old, longer and faster track, it was modified to return to its current form in 1999, and renovated by Dromo to accommodate F1.

But the premier class hasn’t been there since 1985, when it took two greatly modified turns today. Curves 3 and 14, named Hugenholtz and Arie Luyendyk, indeed receive banking.

In the case of the latter, the objective is to lengthen the full load zone which constitutes the starting and finishing straight. This year, the DRS zone will even be extended during EL1 to see if it will be possible to enjoy it longer. If it is not considered dangerous, the activation of the DRS in the last corner will be kept for the whole weekend.

One of the challenges will be the management of the tyres, which will be put to the test. Indeed, the rest of the route is made up of intense turns, like turn 7 which is taken at around 260 km/h and will inflict 5g on the drivers. Turns 8 and 9 will also be demanding fast corners.

Tarzan’s first corner is a fairly tight curve with several possible trajectories and gravel pits. Because yes, one of the particularities of the Zandvoort circuit is its wide clearances in which the cars could well crash in the event of an error.

The other parameter to take into account is the proximity of the sea and the dunes, which could bring changeable weather, wind and sand to the track. Showers are currently forecast for the weekend, but the weather can change.

The forces present

Before his home race, which he won last year, and after two races during which he gave real demonstrations, it is difficult not to make Max Verstappen the absolute favorite for this Dutch Grand Prix.

The Red Bull driver and his teammate will have at their disposal an RB18 which has proven itself on two radically different tracks. However, the winding Dutch layout will suit the Ferrari F1-75 better, which, despite what Mattia Binotto says, was very successful in Hungary.

Behind, Mercedes F1 also hopes for a form closer to Hungary, where George Russell had signed pole position, than to Belgium, where the W13s were two seconds from pole position. But Lewis Hamilton could receive an engine penalty because of his collision at the start at Spa-Francorchamps.

Dutch Grand Prix timetable

Attention ! Although it is a European round in the classic format, the Dutch Grand Prix will offer very slightly modified times, with qualifying on Saturday at 3 p.m., like the race.

– Friday, September 2

12:30-1:30 p.m.: Free practice 1

4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.: Free practice 2

– Saturday September 3

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.: Free practice 3

3:00-4:00 p.m.: Qualifying

– Sunday, September 4

3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.: Race

The winners of the Dutch Grand Prix

Year Circuit Winner Crew Engine
2021 Zandvoort VERSTAPPEN Max Red Bull Honda
1985 Zandvoort LAUDA Niki McLaren TAG Porsche
1984 Zandvoort PROST Alain McLaren TAG Porsche
1983 Zandvoort ARNOUX Rene Ferrari Ferrari
1982 Zandvoort PIRONI Didier Ferrari Ferrari
nineteen eighty one Zandvoort PROST Alain Renault Renault
1980 Zandvoort PICKET Nelson Brabham Ford Cosworth
1979 Zandvoort Alan JONES williams Ford Cosworth
1978 Zandvoort ANDRETTI Mario Lotus Ford Cosworth
1977 Zandvoort LAUDA Niki Ferrari Ferrari
1976 Zandvoort HUNT James McLaren Ford Cosworth
1975 Zandvoort HUNT James Hesket Ford Cosworth
1974 Zandvoort LAUDA Niki Ferrari Ferrari
1973 Zandvoort STEWARTJackie Tyrell Ford Cosworth
1971 Zandvoort ICKX Jacky Ferrari Ferrari
1970 Zandvoort RINDT Jochen Lotus Ford Cosworth
1969 Zandvoort STEWARTJackie Matra Ford Cosworth
1968 Zandvoort STEWARTJackie Matra Ford Cosworth
1967 Zandvoort CLARK Jim Lotus Ford Cosworth
1966 Zandvoort BRABHAM Jack Brabham repco
1965 Zandvoort CLARK Jim Lotus Climax
1964 Zandvoort CLARK Jim Lotus Climax
1963 Zandvoort CLARK Jim Lotus Climax
1962 Zandvoort HILL Graham BRM BRM
1961 Zandvoort von TRIPS Wolfgang Ferrari Ferrari
1960 Zandvoort BRABHAM Jack Cooper Climax
1959 Zandvoort BONNIER Joe BRM BRM
1958 Zandvoort MOSS Stirling vanwall vanwall
1955 Zandvoort FANGIO Juan Manuel mercedes mercedes
1953 Zandvoort ASCARI Alberto Ferrari Ferrari
1952 Zandvoort ASCARI Alberto Ferrari Ferrari

Laisser un commentaire