Football Black List: grassroots sports activist Nana Badu wins the Cyrille Regis award | Football news

Nana Badu, a leading grassroots activist, was named the first recipient of the Cyrille Regis Award during the annual football blacklist.

The founder of the volunteer organization Badu Sports is recognized for his work over the past year helping to empower and educate children and young people through sport in the community of north and east London.

The winner was chosen by the family of former West Brom striker Regis at an online celebration night held at the National Football Museum in Manchester on Thursday.

Badu paid tribute to other grassroots community organizations in his acceptance speech.

The Football Black List, founded by Rodney Hinds and Leon Mann in 2008, is a Premier League-backed initiative that recognizes positive black community influencers in various areas of sport.

Manchester United and England striker Marcus Rashford, former Wolves and Tottenham boss and Arsenal Women’s Nikita Parris were among this year’s winners announced in October.

The names in the seven categories of football’s blacklist are decided by a panel of experts made up of representatives from the Premier League, the Association of Professional Footballers, the League Managers’ Association, the EFL and the group. anti-racist Kick It Out.

Sky Sports News presenter Ade Oladipo was included in the media category, while Kyle Walker of Sky Sports was named in the people to watch.

Full Football Black List 2021

Players off the field

Anita Asante, Aston Villa Women
Cyrus Christie, Fulham
Ivan Toney, Brentford
Marcus Rashford, Manchester United and England
Nikita Parris, Arsenal Women and England


Dayne Matthieu, Safeguard and Welfare Officer, Tottenham Hotspur
Fleur Robinson, Managing Director, Wrexham
Paul Monekosso Cleal, Equality Advisor, Premier League
Sarah Ebanja, Managing Director, Tottenham Hotspur Foundation
Steve Smithies, Managing Director, Cheshire FA

Coaching and management

Darren Moore, manager, Sheffield Wednesday
Justin Cochrane, Manager of Player Development, Manchester United
Nuno Espirito Santo, Director, Tottenham Hotspur
Paul Hall, Under-23 Head Coach, QPR; Deputy Director, Jamaica
William Boye, President and Director, Ashford Town Women and Girls’ FC


Claudia Wilmot, Director of Operations, Leaders in Sport
Gus Hurdle, Executive Producer, EA Sports
Javan Odegah, Strategic Account Director, Leaders in Sport
Remmie Williams, Commercial Director, The FA
Simbi Sonuga, Senior Account Manager, Octagon

Community and base

Andrew Laylor, Head of School Partnerships – Manchester United Foundation
Aneequa Prescod-Wright, coach, Hackney Laces FC
Billy Grant, English fan / podcast / blogger, Beesotted
Jawahir Roble, Football Coach and Referee, Jason Roberts Foundation
Patsy Andrews, base referee, the FA


Amy Allard-Dunbar, Youth Panel Education Manager, Football v Homophobia


Ade Oladipo, presenter, DAZN / talkSPORT / Sky Sports
Alex Scott, presenter, Football Focus
Andrew Spence, Series Producer, Unpublished
Fadumo Olow, Sports Social Media Writer, The Telegraph
Helen Campbell, Multi-Camera Director, Premier League Productions


Aji Ajibola, referee, FA Council
Daniel Mills, educator, Show Racism the Red Card
Drew Christie, President, BCOMS
Jackie Ferdinand, Director of Safeguarding and Inclusion, West Ham United
Liz Ward, Director of Programs, Stonewall

To monitor

Ajani Pile-Gray, Creative Director, 3LanceMedia
Jamie Dapaah, Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, Fulham FC
Kyle Walker, presenter and reporter, Sky Sports News
Lauren Ferdinand, team assistant, Refresh Sports
Liam Loftus, Presenter / Content Creator, BBC Sport
Rhys Denton, youth coach, Reading FC
Richard Amofa, Editor-in-Chief, The Athletic
Sian Marie Fitzpatrick, Youth Mentor, Head Coach, Director of Millwall Academy and The Wall
Susan Fagbohun, Producer, ITV Sport
Zem Clarke, graphic designer and illustrator

Laisser un commentaire