Football: African player of the year 2022, the ten finalists are known

CAF had unveiled a first list of 30 players at the end of June. This Monday, July 11, this list has been reduced to ten names, among those who no longer appear on it we have: The Burkinabè Edmond Tapsoba, Bertrand Traoré and Blati Touré, the Cameroonian André-Frank Zambo Anguissa, the Comorian Youssouf M’Changama , the Ivorian Franck Kessié, the Egyptians Mohamed Abdelmonem, Mohamed Elneny and Mohamed Shenawy, the Gambian Musa Barrow, the Malians Yves Bissouma, Aliou Dieng and Hamari Traoré, the Moroccans Sofiane Boufal, Yassine Bounou and Yahya Jabrane, the Nigerian Moses Simon, the Senegalese Saliou Ciss and Nampalys Mendy and the Tunisian Ali Maaloul.

While the 2020 and 2021 editions have been canceled due to Covid, who will succeed Sadio Mané, crowned in 2019? On Monday, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced the names of ten nominees. The Senegalese international striker, CAN champion this winter and transferred to Bayern Munich at the start of the summer, is on the list. He played a decisive role in the Africa Cup of Nations by leading Senegal to a historic first victory against Mohamed Salah’s Egypt in the final. Sadio Mané also helped his country qualify for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, once again sacking the pharaoh. Will the 2019 champion retain the title as his compatriot El-Hadji Diouf did in 2001 and 2002? Other contenders for the title of African Player 2022 include Riyad Mahrez, the Algerian captain and winger of Manchester City, already crowned in 2016. Edouard Mendy will try to become the first goalkeeper to lift the trophy since Moroccan Ezzaki Badou in 1986. Mohamed Salah who has already won the prize in 2017 and 2018.

The African player of the year is chosen by the captains and coaches of African national teams, members of the CAF technical committee and certain media. Will 2019 champion Sadio Mané retain the title like his compatriot El-Hadji Diouf did in 2001 and 2002? The name of the 2022 winner will be announced on July 21 during a ceremony in Rabat.

Laisser un commentaire