Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey – Overview

Find a presentation of the seventeenth race of the season in INDYCAR, the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey disputed on the WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

This Sunday, the 2022 title will be awarded at the end of the seventeenth and final event of the season, the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in California. There are still five in the running. Will Power is the best ranked of them with 20 points ahead of a duo composed of Josef Newgarden and Scott Dixon. Marcus Ericsson at 39 points and Scott McLaughlin at 41 points are also in the title hunt. It is the narrowest gap between the top five in the final since 2003, when thirty points separated the leader from fifth.

Australian Will Power has been in charge of the championship since the second road race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway last July. In all there have been seven lead changes this season between Scott McLaughlin, Josef Newgarden, Álex Palou, Marcus Ericsson and Will Power.

Six times in INDYCAR history, the Laguna Seca winner has captured the title in the same season, Bobby Rahal in 1986 and 1987, Danny Sillivan in 1988, Michael Andretti in 1991, Alex Zanardi in 1998 and Christiano da Matta in 2022.

Presentation of the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey

The date : Sunday, September 11, 2022
Time : 12:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. in France) (see the full program)
The circuit : WeatherTech Racing Laguna Seca (road | 2,238 miles)
Committed: 26 pilots present
The US broadcast: NBC
The French broadcast: Canal+ Sport

The distance : 95 laps / 212.61 miles
Circuit record: Hélio Castroneves, 67.722 seconds / 118.969 mph, September 8, 2020

Push-to-pass: 150 seconds, within the limit of 15 seconds per activation (Inactive at the start or during restarts, unless the restart occurs in the last two laps or the last three minutes of the race)

Tyres: Six sets of main tires and four sets of alternative tires for the whole weekend, an additional train granted to any single-seater entering a rookie. Teams must use one set of main tires and one set of alternate tires during the race.

The 2021 edition in brief

The winner : Colton Herta (2 hours 2 minutes and 31.5444 seconds / 104.114 mph)
The poleman: Colton Herta (70.7994 seconds / 113.798 mph)

Laisser un commentaire