Fifty years after their first title, the Milwaukee Bucks crowned NBA champions against the Phoenix Suns

A pass of four victories for a historic feat: Milwaukee won his second NBA title on the night of Tuesday to Wednesday (105-98), by overturning a final badly started against the Phoenix Suns. Fifty years after that won by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Oscar Robertson, the trophy returns to Wisconsin after a rare turnaround at this level, and thanks to a huge Giannis Antetokounmpo.

This game 6, played in Milwaukee, also completed the triumph of their double MVP 2019-2020 and quintuple All-Star, which aligned 50 points (and 13 rebounds). At the end of the third quarter, he had already scored 37 of his team’s 77 points. And by phagocytizing this final (none of his teammates scored more than 17 pts), Antetokounmpo becomes the 7th player in history to register at least 50 points in an NBA Finals game.

Largely uncertain after a partially missed Conference final following a knee hyper-extension in Game 4, the Greek has finally returned to carry his team to the title. Still groping in the first game, Antetokounmpo then flew over the next two meetings to more than 40 points before suffering a limited attempt at muzzling from the Suns (26 pts all the same but especially 14 rebounds). And finally form in Game 5 a credible Big 3 with Khris Middleton and Jrue Holiday.

The Bucks, led 2-0, managed to recover this handicap and come to win for the title. In seven decades, only four teams had achieved such a feat so far: the Boston Celtics (1969), the Portland Trail Blazers (1977), the thunderbolt of the Miami Heat in 2006 and the fantastic return of the Cleveland Cavaliers from LeBron James in 2016.

More information to follow.

Laisser un commentaire