Fernando Alonso at the top of the overtaking classification | F1only.fr

On the eve of the Belgian Grand Prix, Formula 1 announced the establishment of a new prize, the Overtake Award, which will reward the driver who has overtaken the most during the season.

The award, which is the first of its kind, is designed to “ celebrate bravery «  shown by the pilots when they overtake some on the track. The driver with the most overtaking throughout the season will receive a trophy at the end of the year. This new award is presented every racing weekend by F1’s new partner: Crypto.com.

After the Sao Paulo Grand Prix, the nineteenth round of the 2021 world championship won last Sunday by Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton, Alpine driver Fernando Alonso leads the standings. Overtake Award with 114 overtakes to his name since the start of the season.

The Spaniard is ahead of the quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel (112 passes) and Aston Martin driver Lance Stroll (107 passes) tied with Finland’s Kimi Raikkonen, with only three Grands Prix remaining this year. .


Regarding the classification of the drivers who have achieved the most overtaking in a single round, we find the seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton who achieved no less than 25 overruns last weekend in Brazil starting from the back of the grid on Saturday. for the Sprint race and from tenth place on Sunday for the main race which he won ten seconds ahead of Max Verstappen.


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *