English, Italian and Atlético de Madrid slingers return to ECA

We meet once again. Nine of the twelve clubs which took part in the Super League putsch have returned to the European Club Association (ECA). Among them are all the English mutineers (Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham), two Italian clubs (Inter and AC Milan) as well as Atlético Madrid. Only the die-hard FC Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid and Juventus remain outside.

« The ECA executive committee took into consideration the recognition by these clubs that the Super League project was not in the interests of the football community », as well as their decision to « completely abandon » the project, explains the union of clubs in a press release.

The other three persist

Juventus, Real and Barça, the most fervent defenders of this new competition model, an almost closed league with the biggest European clubs, remain in conflict with UEFA (organizer of the C1), and have since left spring the ECA, headed by Nasser Al-Khelaïfi, president of Paris SG.

After initiating disciplinary proceedings against them at the end of May with a view to pronouncing sanctions against these three promoters of the project, UEFA suspended its approach « until further notice », while Barça, Real and Juve have brought the case to justice. As for the nine other mutineers, they had quickly abdicated and reached an agreement with UEFA, accepting a series of « reintegration measures », in particular financial.

Laisser un commentaire