controversy in Spain after a nasty tackle from Camavinga which injured Martial

Anthony Martial was injured on Sunday in Real Madrid’s victory over Seville (2-3). The Frenchman, on loan from Manchester United, was awkwardly tackled by his compatriot Eduardo Camavinga, not sanctioned for an action that caused controversy beyond the Pyrenees.

The clash at the top in La Liga between Sevilla FC and Real Madrid, won by the people of Madrid and completed by a decisive goal from the inevitable Karim Benzema (2-3, 32nd day), caused a lot of talk on Sunday evening in Spain. Because Real has taken an almost definitive lead at the top of the championship, provisionally fifteen points ahead of Barça (which has two matches less on the clock).

Because, too, Vinicius was denied a goal in the 76th minute after an arbitration decision, confirmed after watching the video, most amazing – for an alleged handball, when the Brazilian had clearly controlled the ball with his chest . Because, finally, Eduardo Camavinga was at the origin of a new surprising decision by the Spanish referee Guillermo Cuadra Fernandez, after an injurious tackle in passing his teammate in the France team, Anthony Martial.

Martial injured… and sanctioned

A very dangerous tackle in the 39th minute of the match, both feet off and from behind on the French winger from Sevilla. Camavinga, already warned of a yellow in the 31st, did not receive a new card. Yet deserved in view of his defensive gesture. Martial, he remained on the ground for a time, before having to give way to Rafa Mir. Worse, while the fault was not whistled by the official, the latter even distributed a yellow to Martial for having hit the ground in irritation with a bottle of water.

In comments reported by Sport, which spoke of « scandal », Madrid coach Carlo Ancelotti did not wish to comment on this action in front of the media, believing that his player had « touched the ball ». That of Seville, Julen Lopetegui, hammered to him that the fault of Camavinga deserved « a second obvious yellow card ».

« It was a light yellow and the only person who didn’t see it was the referee »

« It was 2-0 (at that point in the game) and they had to have one man down. The game would have been different. It was a clear yellow and the only person who didn’t see it was the referee Bad luck. They should have started the second half at ten, » he insisted on the Sevillian club’s website. « The expulsion of Camavinga is very clear, » also cursed Sevillian midfielder Ivan Rakitic.

On loan from Manchester United since this winter, Anthony Martial started for the 7th time this season in La Liga. With Sevilla, the tricolor international (30 matches, 2 goals), who started at the top on Sunday evening, has only scored once since January, in the Europa League. His club has not yet communicated the nature of his injury.

Romain Daveau RMC Sport journalist

Laisser un commentaire