Colorado takes an option (NHL, Stanley Cup Final, Game 4)

A capital Game 4 awaited the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Colorado Avalanche for the Stanley Cup final. After a handy victory by Tampa a few days earlier (6-2), Colorado led 2-1 in the series when Wes McCauley threw the puck on the face-off circle on Wednesday, June 22. Another victory for Tampa would allow the Lightning to tie the game at 2-2 at home and continue to believe in the three peat. But Colorado didn’t hear it that way.

For the second time in four games, the meeting between the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Colorado Avalanche ended in overtime. And as in game 1 of this hectic series, the meeting ended in victory for the Avalanche. This time the hero is not Andre Burakovsky but Nazem Kadri, although controversy emerged in the minutes after the winning goal. In question, an excess apparently detected by the players of the Avalanche while the puck was about to enter the goal of Tampa. But the referees like the league decided and the goal remained valid (2-3, 72’02 »).

However, the lightning came from Tampa Bay first by Anthony Cirelli after only 36 seconds of play (1-0). A goal whose speed is reminiscent of former Edmonton Oilers player Fernando Pisani, who scored the first goal of game 5 after the first 16 seconds of the match, in 2006.

Later joined by the Avalanche (1-1, 25’17 »), Tampa then regained the upper hand thanks to Victor Hedman (2-1, 30’42”).

Thus, Tampa is in front of the scoreboard when the third period begins in front of their spectators. But the Avalanche machine struck again to equalize, thanks to Cogliano (2-2, 42’53 »). Accustomed to overtime, Colorado took advantage of his experience and scored, thanks to his skill against Andrei Vasilevskiy’s goal. Moreover, in overtime, the number of shots is final: 10 shots to 3 for Jared Bednar’s men.

The Lightning have somewhat forgotten their poor performances in Game 1 and 2 and seemed to regain some bite at home, even if this loss leads them to be back to the wall for Game 5 in Denver. And who says decisive match says Stanley Cup in the arena which receives. While the Colorado Avalanche have been waiting for the cup since 2001, we can put a coin on the fact that the team led by Joe Sakic will do everything to close the finals on a high note, and what’s more, at home. See you Friday, June 24, 2022 to follow a match 5 which promises to be exciting!

(An article by Thomas Woloch)

Tampa Bay Lightning – Colorado Avalanche 2-3 after overtime (1-0, 1-1, 0-1, 0-1)
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 at 8:20 p.m. at the Amalie Arena in Tampa (Florida). 19,092 spectators.
Penalties: Tampa Bay 4′ (0′, 4′, 0′), Colorado 4′ (2′, 2′, 0′).
Shots: Tampa Bay 39 (17, 9, 10, 3) Colorado 37 (4, 17, 6, 10).

Score evolution:
1-0 at 00:36: Cirelli assisted by Cernak
1-1 at 25:17: MacKinnon assisted by Rantanen and Makar (num. sup.)
2-1 at 30’42: Victor Hedman assisted by Rutta
2-2 at 42’53: Andrew Cogliano assisted by Sturm and Helm
2-3 at 72’02: Nazem Kadri assisted by Lehkonen and Kuemper

Tampa Bay Lightning

Ondrej Palat – Steven Stamkos (2′) – Nikita Kucherov
Brandon Hagel (+1) – Anthony Cirelli (+1) – Alex Killorn (+1)
Ross Colton (-1) – Nicholas Paul (-1) – Corey Perry (-1)
Pat Maroon – Pierre-Edouard Bellemare – Riley Nash

Victor Hedman (+1, 2′) – Jan Rutta
Ryan McDonagh (-1) – Erik Cernak (+1)
Mikhail Sergachev (-1) – Zach Bogosian

Guardian :
Andrei Vasilevskiy

Substitute: Brian Elliott (G). Absent: Fredrik Claesson, Alex Barré-Boulet, Brayden Point, Remi Elie, Darren Raddysh, Cole Koepke, Cal Foote, Anthony Richard, Maxime Lagacé (L)

Colorado Avalanche

Artturi Lehkonen – Nathan MacKinnon (-1) – Mikko Rantanen (-1)
Gabriel Landeskog – Nazem Kadri – Valeri Nichushkin
Alex Newhook (-1) – JT Compher – Logan O’Connor
Nico Sturm (+1) – Darren Helm (+1, 2′) – Andrew Cogliano (+1)

Devon Toews – Cale Makar (-2)
Jack Johnson (-1) – Josh Manson (+1)
Erik Johnson – Bowen Byram (+2, 2′)

Guardian :
Darcy Kuemper

Substitute: Pavel Francouz (G). Absent: Ryan Murray (hand), Samuel Girard (sternum fracture), Mikhail Maltsev, Dylan Sikura, Roland Mckeown, Jayson Megna, Nicolas Aube-Kubel, Jacob Macdonald, Kurtis Macdermid, Martin Kaut, Keaton Middleton, Jean-Luc Foudy, Andre Burakovsky, Hunter Miska (L), Trent Miner (L), Justus Annunen (L)

Laisser un commentaire