Cheverie will make history with Canada at U-18 Championship

Kori Cheverie will be the first woman behind the bench for a Canadian men’s team when she serves as an assistant coach at the 2022 IIHF World Under-18 Championship.

The tournament will be held in Landshut and Kaufbeuren, Germany from April 23 to May 1.

Cheverie was an assistant coach with the Canadian women’s team, which won gold at the 2022 Beijing Olympics. Previously, she acted as an assistant behind the bench for the men’s team at Ryerson University in Toronto (2016 to 2021).

She was also an assistant coach when Canada won the 2019 IIHF Women’s World Under-18 Championship.

Prior to beginning her career as a coach, Cheverie played six seasons as a forward with Toronto of the Canadian Women’s Hockey League.

Nolan Baumgartner, a former NHL defenseman and former assistant coach with the Vancouver Canucks, will serve as Canada’s head coach. He also led the Maple Leaf to the 2022 Olympics. Todd Miller, a former Oshawa coach in the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), and David Struch, a former Regina coach in the Ontario Hockey League ‘West (WHL), were also named assistants. Brad Kirkwood, goaltending coach at the University of Calgary and for Calgary’s WHL team, has been named a goaltending consultant.

« We are thrilled to announce the coaching staff who will lead the Canadian men’s under-18 team as they look to defend the gold medal they won last year, » said Scott Salmond, vice-president principal of hockey operations at Hockey Canada. “We are fortunate to have a diverse staff of experienced coaches. Nolan has experience in the NHL and the Olympics, while Kori has won gold with the women’s teams at the Olympics and the World Under-18 Championship. We also count on veterans of the [Ligue canadienne de hockey] in Todd and David, while Brad has a wealth of experience at the college and Olympic levels as well as in the WHL. »

Defending champions Canada will open the tournament with a Group A matchup against the United States. Czechia and Germany are also in Group A, while Group B is made up of Sweden, Finland, Switzerland and Latvia.

Pictures : Matthew Murnaghan/Hockey Canada Images

Laisser un commentaire