6 Hours of Bahrain: Victory for the n ° 8 Toyota, which is approaching the world title

Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José Maria Lopez have struck a big blow. As the race for the title of World Endurance Champion (WEC) pits the two Toyota prototypes against each other in the last two rounds at the Sakhir circuit, the trio made up of the British driver, the Japanese driver and the Argentinian driver dominated without almost forcing the 6 Hours of Bahrain this Saturday, their third victory in a row after Monza and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. A race contested entirely by day and under intense heat which posed problems in terms of tire management. But, despite this, the Toyota flanked by the number 7 never trembled. After 185 laps, Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José Maria Lopez were 51 seconds ahead of the sister car entrusted to Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley. During the race, the Swiss admitted that a difference in pace between the two crews existed and that the number 8 was never able to compete. With this victory, the crew of number 7 will tackle the last race of the season, lasting eight hours, launched by day and concluded at night, next weekend with a lead of fifteen points.

The Alpine largely left behind

A gap that will allow Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José Maria Lopez to see coming in a test that will distribute one and a half times more points, with 38 units vested in the winner. A double that also gives the Japanese manufacturer the title of world constructors’ champion, which was expected even before the start of the season. While the performance balances were reviewed for this final stretch of the championship, Alpine did not have the weapons to compete with Toyota. Despite an attempt to shift in terms of strategy, André Negrão, Nicolas Lapierre and Matthieu Vaxivière finished this six-hour race with one lap of the number 7 Toyota. In the LMP2 category, the victory went to the crew of the Oreca 07 of Team WRT entrusted to Robin Frijns, Ferdinand Habsburg and Charles Milesi, who will soon be behind the wheel of the GR010 during the tests reserved for rookies, during which the young French driver will be alongside Sébastien Ogier. The LMGTE Pro category, for its part, saw the two Porsches be domineering with Kevin Estre and Neel Jani who won ahead of Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz. Finally, in LMGTE Am, the Aston Martin of TF Sport entrusted to Ben Keating, Dylan Pereira and Felipe Fraga won.

Final classification – Saturday, October 30, 2021
1- Toyota Gazoo Racing n ° 7 (Conway-Kobayashi-Lopez / GBR-JAP-ARG / Toyota GR010 Hybrid) 185 laps
2- Toyota Gazoo Racing n ° 8 (Buemi-Nakajima-Hartley / SUI-JAP-NZL / Toyota GR010 Hybrid) at 51 »401
3- Alpine Elf Matmut n ° 36 (Negrão-Lapierre-Vaxivière / BRE-FRA-FRA / Alpine A480-Gibson) 1 lap
4- Team WRT n ° 31 (Frijns-Habsburg-Milesi / PBS-AUT-FRA / Oreca 07-Gibson) at 5 laps (1st LMP2)
5- JOTA n ° 28 (Gelael-Vandoorne-Blomqvist / INA-BEL-GBR / Oreca 07-Gibson) at 5 laps

13- Porsche GT Team n ° 92 (Estre-Jani / FRA-SUI / Porsche 911 RSR-19) at 11 laps (1st LMGTE Pro)

17- TF Sport n ° 33 (Keating-Pereira-Fraga / USA-LUX-BRE / Aston Martin Vantage AMR) at 13 laps (1st LMGTE Am)

Laisser un commentaire