2022 edition of The Best – FIFA Football Awards™: the list of nominees revealed

— Posted on January 13, 2023


  • The lists of nominees for the distinctions of best player, player, goalkeeper, goalkeeper, supporters, coaches for men’s and women’s football and most beautiful goal have been unveiled.
  • The public voting procedure on FIFA+ runs until February 3, 2023.
  • Two panels of experts selected the nominated players, goalkeepers, coaches.

FIFA has revealed the final nominees for The Best – FIFA Football Awards™ 2022.

List of nominees in alphabetical order:

The Best – FIFA Player:

  • Aitana Bonmatí (Spain – FC Barcelona)
  • Debinha (Brazil – North Carolina Courage)
  • Jessie Fleming (Canada – Chelsea FC Women)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia – Chelsea FC Women)
  • Beth Mead (England – Arsenal WFC)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands – Arsenal WFC)
  • Alex Morgan (USA – Orlando Pride and San Diego Wave)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Germany – VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Alexandra Popp (Germany – VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Alexia Putellas (Spain – FC Barcelona)
  • Wendie Renard (France – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Keira Walsh (England – Manchester City WFC and FC Barcelona)
  • Leah Williamson (England – Arsenal WFC)

The Best – FIFA Player:

  • Julián Álvarez (Argentina – Club Atlético River Plate and Manchester City FC)
  • Jude Bellingham (England – BV Borussia 09 Dortmund)
  • Karim Benzema (France – Real Madrid CF)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium – Manchester City FC)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway – BV Borussia 09 Dortmund and Manchester City FC)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco – Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland – FC Bayern München and FC Barcelona)
  • Sadio Mané (Senegal – Liverpool FC and FC Bayern München)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France – Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina – Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • Luka Modric (Croatia – Real Madrid CF)
  • Neymar (Brazil – Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt – Liverpool FC)
  • Vinicius Junior (Brazil – Real Madrid CF)

The Best – FIFA Women’s Football Coach:

  • Sonia Bompastor (France – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Emma Hayes (England – Chelsea FC Women)
  • Bev Priestman (England – Canadian national team)
  • Pia Sundhage (Sweden – Brazil national team)
  • Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany – German national team)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands – England and Netherlands national team)

The Best – FIFA Coach for Men’s Football:

  • Carlo Ancelotti (Italy – Real Madrid CF)
  • Didier Deschamps (France – French national team)
  • Pep Guardiola (Spain – Manchester City FC)
  • Walid Regragui (Morocco – Wydad AC and Morocco national team)
  • Lionel Scaloni (Argentina – Argentina national team)

The Best – FIFA Goalkeeper:

  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany – Chelsea FC Women)
  • Mary Earps (England – Manchester United WFC)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Merle Frohms (Germany – Eintracht Frankfurt and VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Alyssa Naeher (USA – Chicago Red Stars)
  • Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain – FC Barcelona)

The Best – FIFA Goalkeeper:

  • Alisson Becker (Brazil – Liverpool FC)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco – Sevilla FC)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium – Real Madrid CF)
  • Ederson (Brazil – Manchester City FC)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Argentina – Aston Villa FC)

FIFA Puskas Award:

  • Mario Balotelli (Italy): Adana Demirspor – Göztepe Spor Kulübü [Süper Lig] (May 22, 2022)
  • Amanda Henry (France): FC Barcelona – Olympique Lyonnais [Ligue des Champions féminine de l’UEFA] (May 21, 2022)
  • Theo Hernandez (France): AC Milan – Atalanta Bergamasca Calcio [Serie A] (May 15, 2022)
  • Alou Kuol (Australia): Iraq U-23 – Australia U-23 [Coupe d’Asie U-23 de l’AFC] (June 4, 2022)
  • Kylian Mbappe (France): Argentina – France [Coupe du Monde de la FIFA, Qatar 2022™] (December 18, 2022)
  • Francisco Gonzalez Metilli (Argentina): Club Atlético Central Córdoba – Club Atlético Rosario Central [Primera División] (1er August 2022)
  • Marcin Oleksy (Poland): Warta Poznań – Stal Rzeszów [PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa] (November 6, 2022)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Spain): FC Barcelona – Villarreal CF [Liga F] (April 2, 2022)
  • Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille – PAOK Thessaloniki FC [Ligue Europa Conférence de l’UEFA] (April 7, 2022)
  • Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil – Serbia [Coupe du Monde de la FIFA, Qatar 2022™] (November 24, 2022)
  • Alessia Russo (England): England – Sweden [EURO féminin de l’UEFA 2022] (July 26, 2022)

The Best – FIFA Supporters Awards

  • Abdullah Al Salmi (Saudi Arabia): Crossing the Saudi Arabian desert, Abdullah traveled to Qatar on foot from his hometown of Jeddah to cheer on his team at the FIFA World Cup.
  • Argentinian fans (Argentina): Argentinian fans turned out in droves to Qatar to cheer on their team and celebrate their FIFA World Cup™ crown, and millions cheered on their heroes as they returned to Buenos Aires and throughout the country.
  • Japanese fans: Japanese fans have earned worldwide respect for their tradition of staying in the stadium after World Cup matches to help clean the stands.

Two panels of experts – one for the women’s football and the other for the male soccer – decided on the names retained for each category.

It’s up to you to vote!

Football fans have until February 3, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (CET) to cast their votes on Fifa+.

In early February 2023, FIFA will announce the three finalists in each of the seven categories.

Laisser un commentaire